« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Reuters, Published May 06 2014

Top-scorer Durant named NBA's MVP

Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder was named on Tuesday as the National Basketball Association's Most Valuable Player for the 2013-14 season.

Durant won the MVP award for the first time in his seven-year career, claiming the honor by a landslide after capturing his fourth scoring title in five seasons and leading the Thunder to the Northwest Division title and the NBA playoffs.

Miami Heat's LeBron James, who had won the MVP title four times in the last five seasons, finished a distant second in the voting while Blake Griffin of the Los Angeles Clippers was third, Joakim Noah of the Chicago Bulls fourth and James Harden of the Houston Rockets fifth.

Durant received 119 first-place votes from a total of 124 votes cast by sportswriters and broadcasters in North America plus one special fan vote. James picked up the other six first-place votes.

During the regular season, five-time All-Start Durant averaged a career-best 32 points per game to go with 7.4 rebounds and 5.5 assists, also a career high.

In capturing his fourth scoring title, he joined Michael Jordan, Wilt Chamberlain, George Gervin and Allen Iverson as the only players to win at least four scoring titles.

The 25-year-old forward, who also won a gold medal with the U.S. team at the 2012 London Olympics, scored more than 40 points in a game 17 times during the season.

Past MVP winners

2013-14 Kevin Durant (Oklahoma)

2012-13 LeBron James (Miami)

2011-12 LeBron James (Miami)

2010-11 Derrick Rose (Chicago)

2009-10 LeBron James (Cleveland)

2008-09 LeBron James (Cleveland)

2007-08 Kobe Bryant (Los Angeles Lakers)

2006-07 Dirk Nowitzki (Dallas)

2005-06 Steve Nash (Phoenix)

2004-05 Steve Nash (Phoenix)

2003-04 Kevin Garnett (Minnesota)

2002-03 Tim Duncan (San Antonio)

2001-02 Tim Duncan (San Antonio)

2000-01 Allen Iverson (Philadelphia)

1999-00 Shaquille O'Neal (Los Angeles Lakers)

1998-99 Karl Malone (Utah)

1997-98 Michael Jordan (Chicago)

1996-97 Karl Malone (Utah)

1995-96 Michael Jordan (Chicago)

1994-95 David Robinson (San Antonio)

1993-94 Hakeem Olajuwon (Houston)

1992-93 Charles Barkley (Phoenix)

1991-92 Michael Jordan (Chicago)

1990-91 Michael Jordan (Chicago)

1989-90 Magic Johnson (Los Angeles Lakers)

1988-89 Magic Johnson (Los Angeles Lakers)

1987-88 Michael Jordan (Chicago)

1986-87 Magic Johnson (Los Angeles Lakers)

1985-86 Larry Bird (Boston)

1984-85 Larry Bird (Boston)

1983-84 Larry Bird (Boston)

1982-83 Moses Malone (Philadelphia)

1981-82 Moses Malone (Houston)

1980-81 Julius Erving (Philadelphia)

1979-80 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Los Angeles)

1978-79 Moses Malone (Houston)

1977-78 Bill Walton (Portland)

1976-77 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Los Angeles)

1975-76 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Los Angeles)

1974-75 Bob McAdoo (Buffalo)

1973-74 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee)

1972-73 Dave Cowens (Boston)

1971-72 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee)

1970-71 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee)

1969-70 Willis Reed (New York)

1968-69 Wes Unseld (Baltimore)

1967-68 Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia)

1966-67 Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia)

1965-66 Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia)

1964-65 Bill Russell (Boston)

1963-64 Oscar Robertson (Cincinnati)

1962-63 Bill Russell (Boston)

1961-62 Bill Russell (Boston)

1960-61 Bill Russell (Boston)

1959-60 Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia)

1958-59 Bob Pettit (St. Louis)

1957-58 Bill Russell (Boston)

1956-57 Bob Cousy (Boston)

1955-56 Bob Pettit (St. Louis)