« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Greg DeVillers / Forum News Service, Published March 11 2014

Hillsboro-CV advances in Region 2 girls basketball tournament

MAYVILLE, N.D. – Hillsboro-Central Valley was looking for a mismatch. The Burros found one in Rachel Murphy.

The 5-foot-10 junior’s six points in the final 5 minutes, 3 seconds helped Hillsboro-CV hold off Midway-Minto 55-45 on Tuesday in the semifinals of the North Dakota Class B, Region 2 girls basketball tournament.

The Mustangs never led. But it was Murphy who was the primary one holding off Midway-Minto in the final quarter.

After Midway-Minto drew within 41-39, Murphy hit a turnaround jumper in the lane to start a 6-0 run. Midway-Minto cut the deficit to five, only to see Murphy drive the lane for a layup.

The Mustangs were still within 49-43 when Murphy converted an offensive rebound for a 51-43 lead with just 1:01 left.

“Coach was telling us to get the ball inside, and I definitely want the ball,’’ said Murphy, who reached the 20-point mark in a regular-season game against the Mustangs. “I was looking to shoot. I trust myself. My teammates have confidence in me.

“They’re a little smaller than we are. We have two posts, and it seems like shorter girls were guarding me. I was confident.’’

HCV 16 27 37 55

MM 10 21 34 45

HCV: Dryburgh 6, Henningsgard 16, Pastian 3, Murphy 12, Lazur 10, Kritzberger 4, Buethner 4.

MM: Martinez 2, Irwin 10, Schuster 21, Altendorf 2, Maendel 10.

Thompson 64,

Park River-Fordville-Lankin 34

The defense established itself early for Thompson.

The Tommies jumped to an 18-6 lead in the opening six minutes and never looked back. That fast start was sparked by a defense that had six steals, leading to 11 points in the opening spurt.

“We wanted to play with more of a sense of urgency,’’ said Karleigh Weber. “Defense is where it’s at with us. We’re aggressive.’’

PRFL 8 23 30 34

T 22 45 55 64

PRFL: C. Welch 3, Novak 8, Fontaine 7, Carlson 4, Porter 2, Swartz 4, A. Welch 2, Dalbey 4.

T: Ivesdal 6, Marx 8, Weber 11, Galegher 18, Overby 9, Hegg 4, Olson 2, DeMoe 6.

DeVillers writes for the Grand Forks Herald