« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published March 09 2014


MAKING THE GRADE: Aaron Ostlund, Moorhead, was named to the fall semester President’s List at Bemidji (Minn.) State University.

RECENT GRADUATES: Ashley Ryan, West Fargo, graduated summa cum laude in December from the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, with a bachelor’s degree in nursing.

Justin Smith, son of Terry Smith and Denise Smith of Fargo, recently graduated with a doctorate of nursing practice from the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. He is now employed as an anesthetist at Perham (Minn.) Healthcare.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: Grace Kidder of Fargo has been awarded a merit scholarship semester based on her grade point average and ACT/SAT test scores. The scholarships amount will range from $1,500 to $7,500.

COLLEGE BOUND: Allison Babler of Borup, Minn., has been accepted to attend the University of Minnesota, Morris.

MSUM NEWS: Hannah Reis has been awarded a $6,000 Dragon Scholarship from Minnesota State University Moorhead. The scholarship requires a high school rank in the top 50 percent and a score of 28 or above on the ACT exam.

HIGH HONORS: Haleigh Larson, a senior at Park Christian School in Moorhead, has been named as one of more than 3,000 candidates in the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities. Semifinalists will be announced in April.

4-H NEWS: The following 4-H members were winners in the Cass County 4-H Communication Arts & Expo Contest held at Horace (N.D.) Elementary:

Communication Arts Pre-Teen Division:

Interpretive Reading/Humorous: Jack Stoppleworth, Horace; Jonathan Schulz, Fargo; Katelyn Galde, Horace; Linnea Axtman, Fargo.

Interpretive Reading/Serious: Jacob Schulz, Fargo; Kooper Hahn Shagena, Horace.

Prepared Speech: Preeti Chemiti, Fargo; Jonathan Schulz, Fargo.

Dramatic Presentation/Individual: Astrid Axtman, Fargo.

Commercials/Team: Jalana Steinmetz and Javana Steinmetz, Fargo; Emmaline Schmidt and Leo Devick, Fargo.

Commercials/Individual: Astrid Axtman, Fargo; Emily Zurn, Fargo.

Broadcast/Individual: Emily Zurn, Fargo.

Short Takes: Preeti Chemiti, Fargo; Astrid Axtman, Fargo.

`Demonstration/Individual: Brianna Mohs, Horace; Katelyn Galde, Horace; Linnea Axtman, Fargo; Jalana Steinmetz, Fargo; Dallas Frueh, Argusville; Gracie Erickstad, Horace; Astrid Axtman, Fargo; Dawson Galde, Horace.

Illustrated Talk/Individual: Jacob Schulz, Fargo.

Presentation Software: Preeti Chemiti, Fargo; Alison Bugner, Davenport.

Website Design: Preeti Chemiti, Fargo; Anna Froemke, Fargo.

Communication Arts Teen Division:

Interpretive Reading/Humorous: Megan Badinger, Fargo; Anna Skarphol, Fargo.

Interpretive Reading/Serious: Rachel Danielson, Fargo.

Commercials/Team: Zoe Alvarez and Arianna Alvarez, Kindred.

Broadcast/Individual: Pooja Chemiti, Fargo.

Prepared Speech: Anna Stoppleworth, Horace; Arianna Alvarez, Kindred.

Short Takes: Ryder Belgarde, Horace.

Demonstration/Individual: Rachel Danielson, Fargo.

Presentation Software: Grace Robinson, Fargo, Arianna Alvarez, Kindred.

Project Expo Pre-Teen Division: Victoria Aal, West Fargo; Gracie Erickstad, Horace; Maddie Robinson, Fargo; Katelyn Galde, Horace; Brianna Mohs, Horace; Leah Jost, Fargo.

Project Expo Teen Division: Hannah LaGier, Mapleton; Kendra Karl, Harwood; Grace Robinson, Fargo; Emily Erickson, Fargo; and Brittany Johnson, West Fargo.

Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. Contact Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.