« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published February 14 2014

Honors and officers (Feb. 15)

Landscape, marketing contest winners named

The North Dakota Nursery and Greenhouse Association has awarded Peter Boyle of Boyle Landscaping, Fargo, as the first place winner in the residential front yard category in its annual Landscape and Marketing Contest. Boyle was recognized for his project at Shotwell Commons, Fargo.

Ryan Aakre of Signature Landscapes, Fargo, won the residential backyard division, and Terryl Melby and Sarah Liljestrand of Holland’s Landscaping and Garden Center, Moorhead, received first place in the marketing awards program in the plant materials and hard goods divisions.

Awards of Merit went to Cody Wilhelm, Dakota Impressions Landscapes and Design, Bismarck; Paul Beck, Lowe’s Garden Center, Minot; and Chad Erickson Oasis Plantscapes, West Fargo.

Lura named Nodak Mutual sales leader

Duey Lura, an agent for Nodak Mutual Insurance Co., Fargo, has been recognized as a sales leader with Nodak Mutual for his outstanding sales performance for all lines in the state of North Dakota during 2013.

He also earned partner level status for the year.

Prudential Premier agents earn recognition

Prudential Premier Real Estate has awarded 31 of its real estate agents with Top of the Rock Club status, which recognizes their 2013 sales accomplishments.

The agents receiving the special recognition include: Sabrina Anderson, Amber Bender, Jayne Bertsch, Randy Bertsch, Jodi Birnbaum, Jared Blankenship, Terri Craig, Pat DeVine, Connie Dreyer, Mary Eberhard, Julie Fournier, Cathy Hahn, James Hand, Pam Hanson, Nancy Kelly, Kim Kelsh, Steve Klocke, John Knosalla, DeAnne Mason, Mark Mason, Kim Meyers, Pam Moffat, Susie Nickell, Bobbi Solien, Lyle Rasmussen, Tyler Rebrovich, Rod Richter, Steve Ritter, Mari Santoyo, Rod Searls, Lisa Swanson and Cat Yokom.

Forks Lath & Plaster earns national honors

Forks Lath and Plaster, Mekinock, N.D., has been named as one of top 50 Wall and Ceiling Contractors in the Nation in Walls & Ceilings Magazine.

It is the only North Dakota-based company named in the list.

The company is owned by Gerald Roach who started the business in 1996. Over the past 18 years the company has grown from five employees to more than 100.

Erbert and Gerbert’s GMs earn awards

E&G Franchise Systems has recognized several Erbert and Gerbert’s area general managers with its President’s Club award.

The award is given to general managers who meet all critical operations critera, including highest operational scores, positive sales, maintaining food and labor standards, and completing compliance with all financial reporting systems and marketing initiatives. The managers received an all-expense paid trip to Jamaica.

Those earning the awards included:

• Jessica Balderas, general manager of the store on Broadway in Fargo;

• Mark Arnold, general manager of the 13th Avenue South store in Fargo, who was also named manager of the year;

• Erika Vega, general manager of the store on 25th Street South, Fargo; and;

• Paul Bartz, general manager of the Bismarck Erbert and Gerbert’s and former manager of the store on 13th Avenue South, Fargo.

NDSU Spectrum gets ‘Best of Show’ honors

The NDSU student newspaper, The Spectrum, received Best of Show for a four-year non-weekly newspaper during the Best of the Midwest Convention of the Associated Collegiate Press held recently in Minneapolis.

The Spectrum, led by editor-in-chief Emma Heaton, a senior from Thief River Falls, Minn., also won third place for a special edition.

Individual winners included: graphics designer Whitney Stramer, a sophomore from Maple Grove, Minn., second place for a single-page design; opinion editor Caleb Werness, a sophomore from Anoka, Minn., second for an editorial/commentary piece; and news editor Lisa Marchand, a junior from Fargo, third place for a news story.

Park Rapids hospital honored for obstetrics

WomenCertified, a marketing research firm, has named St. Joseph’s Area Health Services in Park Rapids, Minn., as one of America’s Best Hospitals for Patient Experience in Obstetrics.

St. Joseph’s received the Women’s Choice Award for demonstrating excellence in meeting the needs and preferences of women. The award is based on criteria including female patient satisfaction measures and clinical quality considerations.

It’s the only award that identifies the country’s best health care institutions based on criteria that considers female patient satisfaction, what women say and want from a hospital, and trusted referrals from other women.

Spitfire earns barbecue team of year honors

The competition barbecue team from the Spitfire Bar & Grill, West Fargo, was named the 2013 Team of the Year by the Minnesota Barbecue Association,

The team earned the highest overall points at barbecue events throughout Minnesota during the 2013 season. Spitfire also received the top award for the chicken, ribs and pork categories.