« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Tom Mix, Published February 13 2014

West Fargo cruises to Class A dual quarterfinals win over Dickinson

BISMARCK – After dropping the opening two bouts of its team dual quarterfinals match with Dickinson, West Fargo put on a display of dominance Thursday.

West Fargo, the East Region’s top seed, defeated Dickinson 63-9 at the North Dakota Class A state wrestling tournament at the Bismarck Civic Center.

The Packers (25-3) rattled off 12 straight decisions in the dual and scored six pins.

“The goal is to dominate,” said West Fargo’s 106-pound, eighth-grader Jared Franek said. “We wanted to set the tone for the rest of the state tournament.”

Franek wrapped up the dual with a 16-0 technical fall over Dickinson’s Todd Irwin.

“Our goal was to come out and gain control,” West Fargo head coach Kayle Dangerud said. “I think we did a good job of that in this first dual match.”

West Fargo advances to meet Bismarck Century in the semifinals at 1 p.m. today. The Class A team dual championship is set for 7:15 p.m.

“We have to continue to wrestle our matches and be proactive,” Dangerud said. “If we do a good job of getting those things done, we should be in good position to do well the rest of the tournament.”

Dickinson freshman Caden Haugen scored a pin at 113 pounds and junior Austin Hutzenbiler posted a decision at 120 pounds for the Midgets (10-5).

West Fargo senior Reed Cronin got the Packers on the scoreboard with a pin at 126 pounds.

Jordan Shearer (132), Anjelo Shepherd (145), Jesse Shearer (152), Kollin Kragnes (170), Tanner Kuznia (195) also picked up pins for West Fargo.

“We came out aggressive and we were focused,” Shepherd said. “We warmed up as a team, and we wrestled as a team.”

Fargo Davies dropped its quarterfinals matchup with Turtle Mountain-Belcourt 45-32.

“We wrestled (Turtle Mountain) the first dual of the season and they beat us by 24 points, so we did a little better this time around,” Fargo Davies head coach Keenan Spiess said. “We are building still, and Turtle Mountain is a good team. If anything, this gave our guys a good hard match to start the tournament before we start individuals.”

West Region top-seeded Bismarck defeated Wahpeton 63-5 and will meet Turtle Mountain-Belcourt in the semifinals.

Five inducted into wrestling Hall of Fame

The North Dakota Wrestling Hall of Fame is inducting five new members this weekend in Bismarck. The inductees are Lynn Forde, Ryan Kringlie, Ben Berogan, James Belohlavek (posthumously) and Kirk Zink.

Forde coached at Fargo South from 1978 to 2011 and guided the Bruins to 304 dual wins. Under Forde, South won the 1997 Class A team individual championship and had a total of 23 individual state champions.

Kringlie and Berogan each won two state championships with Bismarck in 1991 and 1992. Berogan is an assistant coach with West Fargo.

Zink wrestled on two state championship teams at Carrington (1991, 92) and had an 89-7 career record winning the 152-pound state title in 1992. Zink coaches boys and girls country at Hillsboro-Central Valley.

Readers can reach Forum reporter Tom Mix at (701) 241-5562