« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published February 07 2014

Honors and officers (Feb. 8)

Nodak Mutual names Bowers agent of year

Nodak Mutual Insurance has named Lana Bowers, Minot, N.D., as agent of the year. Bowers has been an agent with Nodak Mutual since 2010.

Mike Bruckbauer, Fargo, was recognized as agent of the year runner-up; third place honors went to Jason Paulson, Edgeley, N.D.; and Steven Mueller, Rugby, N.D., was the company’s fourth place recipient.

The agents earned the recognition for outstanding service to clients in 2013.

Becky Dressler of Killdeer, N.D., was named new agent of the year for 2013.

Gores receives national IMA/Diamond Award

Patrick K. Gores, managing partner of Northwestern Mutual, Fargo, has qualified for the IMA/Diamond Award from the General Agents and Managers Association. The award recognizes commissions earned in excess of $2.7 million in 2013. This is the 17th time Gores has earned this honor

Gore’s has been with Northwestern Mutual since 1981. He is a native of Cando, N.D., and a graduate of Minot (N.D.) State University.

Westgard qualifies for MDRT membership

Jessica Westgard of the Dakotas Business Center of the Principal Financial Group, Fargo, has earned membership in the Million Dollar Round Table. This is the fifth time she has qualified for the membership.

The Round Table’s membership represents the top life insurance and financial service professionals worldwide and is attained by those who have demonstrated exceptional professional knowledge, expertise and client service.

LeMoine re-elected to travel, tourism board

Heather LeMoine, marketing manager for North Dakota Tourism, has been re-elected to the board of directors for CenStates, the regional chapter for Travel and Tourism Research Association.

TTRA is an international network of more than 800 tourism research and marketing professionals who network and share ideas and resources to develop more effective business and marketing strategies based upon travel and tourism research.

The CenStates regional chapter represents Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

ND county engineers hold annual conference

At the North Dakota Association of County Engineers annual conference and meeting, officers were elected for 2014.

Those elected include: Sharon Lipsh, Walsh County highway superintendent, Grafton, president; Marcus Hall, Burleigh County engineer, Bismarck, vice president; Mike Aubol, Morton County engineer, Mandan, secretary/treasurer; Jennie Krause, KLJ, Bismarck, first-year director; Jason Benson, Cass County engineer, Fargo, second-year director; Shawn Mayfield, KLJ, Valley City, third-year director; and Steve Mamer, Interstate Engineering, Beulah, past president.

The group also awarded scholarships to the following students: Brett Barber, $1,000, North Dakota State College of Science; and Sean Kelly, $1,500, Shane Hillen, $1,000, and Stephen Hoersz, $1,000, all at North Dakota State University.

Kevin Fieldsend with the Ramsey County Highway Department was awarded the Superintendent of the Year Award and Rhonda Ferguson with Lyle Signs was awarded the Friends of NDACE Award.

Kovash appointed to economic board

Pat Kovash has been appointed to the Economic Development Authority in Moorhead.

Kovash is a long-time Moorhead business owner and operator of Kovash Marine.

He also serves as a member of the board of directors of the Moorhead Business Association.

Kiwanis to honor two with community awards

The Village Family Service Center is recipient of the 2014 Fargo Kiwanis Community Champion for Kids Organizational Award, and Lloyd Paulson, Moorhead, is the recipient of the 2014 Fargo Kiwanis Community Champion for Kids Individual Award.

The awards are presented annually to individuals and organizations that have had significant, long-term impacts on the lives of children and families in the Fargo-Moorhead community.

Founded in 1891, The Village reaches out to more than 80,000 people every year, continually adapting its services to meet the needs of contemporary life.

“Lloyd has enriched the lives of thousands of area children and adults by volunteering and contributing to numerous organizations, including Dollars for Scholars and the Good Shepherd Lutheran Church ‘Helping Hands’ program. As a member of the Moorhead Kiwanis since 1969, Lloyd has served in multiple leadership roles and has motivated the club to raise significant funds for the Dorothy Day Food Pantry and Kiwanis International projects.”

The awards will be presented during the annual Fargo Kiwanis Pancake Karnival on Feb. 15 at the Fargodome.