« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published January 26 2014


MAKING THE GRADE: Tyler Lehmann, son of Scott and Ellen Lehmann, Fargo, was named to the fall semester’s dean’s list at North Dakota State University. Lehmann also is a starter for the North Dakota State University Bison wrestling team.

EXHIBITS AND PERFORMANCES: Fargo Davies High School student Katherine Luistro has been selected to join students from across the U.S., Canada and select international schools in the 2014 High School Honors Performance Series at Carnegie Hall next month in New York. She will perform with the Honors Choir as an Alto II. Luistro studies music with Deb Wald and is a member of Concert Choir and Vivace.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: Three area students recently were awarded scholarships from the University of Minnesota Morris.

Jamon Beske, Audubon, Minn., was awarded the Clyde E. Johnson Music Scholarship, which covers the fees for one year of weekly private, individual music lessons.

Rachel Douville, Fargo, was awarded the Carrie Wickstrom Scholarship, which is based on academic merit and awarded to students pursing education licensure.

Maria Veit, Lake Park, Minn., erned the Mary Jo Kwako Scholarship based on academic merit.

HITTING THE RIGHT NOTE: Winners in the 33rd annual Young Artists Solo competition were: Brayden Drevlow, Thief River Falls, Minn., first; Radhika Katti, Fargo, second; and Connor Neill, Moorhead, third.

Drevlow, the son of Joseph and Jodi Drevlow, studies piano with Dr. Jay Hershberger. He received a $500 cash prize, a Fargo-Moorhead Arts Experience package, and the opportunity to perform with the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra at the upcoming Masterworks IV concerts March 15-16.

Katti, a violinist and daughter of Nandini Katti, received a $400 cash award. Third place went to Neill, a tubist and son of Doug and Lauri Neill and Peggy Morken.

Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. Contact Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.