« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Chris Murphy and Tom Mix , Published December 11 2013

Metro boys swimming preview capsules


Coach: Jeff Schneider (fifth year)

Last year: Evan Johnson was the lone state qualifier.

Who’s gone: Evan Johnson (10th-place diver in Class 2A).

Key returners: Chris Cook, Jr.; Brandon Bundgaard, Jr.; Anthony Johnson, So.; Kyle Johnson, So.

Coach’s comments: “The last few seasons have been tough competing against larger and stronger Fargo-Moorhead teams, twin cities teams and only having a couple athletes who train in swimming or diving all year. This past spring, summer and fall we have had more athletes participating in off-season club swimming and diving teams, which should make the season more successful than previous years.”

Fargo North

Coach: Richard Fisher (24th year)

Last year’s finish: Eastern Dakota Conference champions, third place at state meet.

Who’s gone: Jonathon Bell-Clement, Brennan Bonn, Ben Court, Isaiah Enockson, Shane Fisher, Grant Goldader, Connor Radebaugh, Andrew Weist.

Key returners: Tanner Bjorlie, Sr., (All-EDC, All-state); Sanders Ellingson, Sr.; Jacob Hassebrock, Sr.; Steven Rider, Sr., (All-EDC, All-State); Michael Russell, Sr.; Brady Coughlin, Jr., (All-EDC, All-State, state champion in diving); Palmer Obembe, Jr., All-EDC, All-state); Ben Wenzel, Jr., (All-EDC, All-state).

Coach’s comments: “We will need to be improved from last season,” Fisher said. “Fortunately, the team appears to be willing to put in the work.”

Fargo South-Shanley-Oak Grove

Coach: Pat Anderson (5th year)

Last year’s finish: Fourth place at EDC meet, seventh place at state meet.

Who’s gone: Tanner Olson.

Key returners: Alex Brock, Sr., (All-EDC, All-state, 500 freestyle state champion); Josh Olson, Fr.; Grant Isaak, Jr.; Victor Isaak, eighth grade; Connor Bjellum, Soph.; Peter Griggs, Jr.; Andrew Hollingsworth, Soph.; Luke Bergstrom, eighth grader.

Coach’s comments: “We are heading in the right direction,” Anderson said. “We’ll be able to cover all the events and as long as we stay healthy we should be fine. We’ll need to train hard and stay injury free to succeed. Our goal is to finish in the top five at the state meet and to be one of the top teams at the EDC meet.”

Fargo Davies

Coach: Jennifer Johnson (third year)

Last year’s finish: Third place at EDC meet, fourth place at state meet.

Who’s gone: David Sufficool, Derek Arness, Matt Keller, Matt Lorenz.

Key returners: Nate Duncan, Sr., (All-EDC, All-state, 100-yard backstroke state champion); Nate Gourde, Sr., (200 IM, 100 freestyle, All-EDC); Marshall Reopelle, Sr., (50 freestyle, 100 freestyle, All-state second team).

Coach’s comments: “I’m really excited to see what we can do swimming against the teams in the conference,” Johnson said. “We are still building and are still a pretty new team. The boys have been working hard. We finished third in the EDC and fourth at state last season so we are hoping to finish in those spots again or improve.”

West Fargo

Coach: Marsha Dahl (24th year)

Last year’s finish: Second place at EDC meet, fifth place at state meet.

Who’s gone: Ethan Doll and Jacob Lardy.

Key returners: Jacob Cripe, Soph. (diving); Cole Holoien, Jr., (freestyle); Kyle Holoien, Soph., (diving); Stephen Hulbert, Jr., (breaststroke); Carson Keller; Jr., (butterfly); Matt Montplaisir, Jr., (freestyle); Cole Weisz, Soph., (breaststroke, freestyle).

Coach’s comments: “We have a young team,” Dahl said. “We have no seniors, but we are a pretty experienced group that is sure to improve during the course of the season. We have 42 overall athletes on the team, 35 swimmers and seven divers, which is nice group to work with. The goal for the team is to keep improving throughout the season and get as many swimmers to qualify for the state meet as possible.”