« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published November 30 2013

Honors and officers (Nov. 30)

Longtin to serve as vice president of District IV

The American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers has elected Terry L. Longtin, Grand Forks, as District IV vice president.

He is an area sales manager/area vice president for Farmers National Co., Grand Forks, and supervises 20 farm managers and real estate agents in North Dakota, western Minnesota and South Dakota.

Longtin earned a bachelor’s degree in farm and ranch management with a minor in agronomy and agricultural economics from North Dakota State University.

Traynor honored with Charles Bailly Award

Pat Traynor has received the 2013 Charles Bailly Award, an honor given annually by the YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties.

Traynor is president of Dakota Medical Foundation, and serves as the executive director of the Impact Foundation, both in Fargo. He joined the DMF staff in 2000.

Traynor received the award for his work and support in developing the Impact Foundation, which supports non-profit fundraising efforts, along with his leadership in providing support and direction to the 7 Mindsets movement in the community and the Cass-Clay Alive Initiative. Traynor is the 20th recipient of the award.

The Village receives national accreditation

The Village Family Service Center has been reaccredited by the New York-based Council on Accreditation.

The COA accreditation process involves a detailed review and analysis of an organization’s administration, management and service delivery functions against international standards of best practice.

Farm Rescue elects Keller as board member

Gary Keller, Fargo, has been elected to the board of Farm Rescue, a nonprofit organization that provides planting and harvesting assistance free of charge to farm families who have experienced a major illness, injury or natural disaster.

Keller is an active member of Farm Rescue. He is also a correspondent banker with Bell State Bank & Trust in Fargo and co-owner of Docushred, an onsite paper and e-recycling business in East Grand Forks, Minn.

ND Farm Bureau holds annual elections

The North Dakota Farm Bureau has elected Katie Heger, Underwood, to the District 6 position and Jerry Jeffers, Rhame, to the District 9 position, both on the NDFB PAC Executive Committee.

Heger fills the remaining three-year term of Daryl Lies. Heger and her husband, Steven, raise corn, soybeans, wheat and pinto beans.

Rhame replaces Bruce Freitag of Scranton who was ineligible to run for another term. Jeffers and his wife, Karen, raise spring wheat, flax and hay.

Darren Olafson of Edinburg was re-elected to a second four-year term representing District 1. He and his wife, Nicole, own Olafson Agrarian Enterprises, a seed business. He also works on the fourth-generation family farm.

John Heaton, Driscoll, was re-elected to a second four-year term representing District 5. John and his wife, Yvonne, have a cow/calf operation and raise small grains.

Other members on the committee are: District 2, Randy Lemm, Hillsboro; District 3, Michael Martin, Forbes; District 4, Nick Schmaltz, Towner; District 7, Lucas Lang, Sterling; and District 8, Doug Kinnoin, Stanley. Representing the NDFB board on the committee are NDFB President Doyle Johannes, Underwood, who is chairman of the committee, and District 7 Director Wes Klein of Hazen.

Prairieland named to HomeCare Elite list

Prairieland Home Care, Fargo, has been named to the Top 500 of the 2013 HomeCare Elite which recognizes the top-performing home health agencies in the United States. Prairieland has been serving the Fargo area since 1994.

Winners are ranked by an analysis of publicly available performance measures in quality outcomes, best practice implementation, patient experience, quality improvement and consistency, and financial performance.

Robert Lesmann is the administrator at Prairieland Home Care.