« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports , Published November 15 2013

Honors and officers - 11/16/13

Extension Service staff honored

North Dakota State University Extension Service staff were honored at the recent Extension/ Research Extension Center fall conference in Fargo.

Epsilon Sigma Phi Extension honorary awards included:

Program excellence awards, sponsored by Farm and Ranch Guide, included:

The Communicator of the Year award, sponsored by the Agriculture Communication Department and Association for Communication excellence, went to Glenn Muske, Extension rural and agribusiness enterprise development specialist, Bismarck.

Fredrikson & Byron among ‘Best Law Firms’

The Fargo office of Fredrikson & Byron has been named a Tier 1 Metropolitan “Best Law Firm” by “U.S. News – Best Lawyers” in the area of trusts and estates law for 2014.

The Fargo trusts and estates team is led by William L. Guy III and F. John Williams III, and includes associates Jessica L. Foss, Amy L. Jenson and Katie A. Perleberg, and paralegals MaKell Baumgartner, Lacey L. Hanson, Andrea G. Jenson-Packer, Deborah A. Moeller, Kim M. Thompson and Joan D. Wrolstad.

To be eligible for a ranking, a firm must have at least one lawyer recognized by The Best Lawyers in America 2014 for that particular location and specialty.

ND dental hygienists elect new officers

The North Dakota Dental Hygienists Association has elected officers to serve on the 2013-14 board of trustees. Those elected include:

Dana Schmit, Wahpeton, president; Rachelle Gustafson, Grand Forks, president-elect; Linda Alton, Williston, past president; Christina O’Neill, Williston, vice president; Amy Schaefer, Minot, treasurer; Robin Peltier, Fargo, membership trustee; Crystal Shumake, Fargo, resource trustee; Amber Wulff, Wahpeton, newsletter editor; and Judy Bernat, secretary, Fisher, Minn.

Kautzman elected president of NDCPAS

At the annual convention of the North Dakota Certified Public Accountant Society, Patrick Kautzman, a tax partner at Eide Bailly in Fargo, was elected president of the NDCPAS.

Also at the convention, Dennis Fuhrman, Fargo, received life member status and Darlys Anderson was elected foundation trustee. Fuhrman is retired, and Anderson is owner of Darlys Anderson Ltd., a public accounting firm in Fargo.

NDSU instructor earns teaching award

Janice Haggart, instructor in the Department of Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences at North Dakota State University, has received the Excellence in College and University Teaching in the Food and Agricultural Sciences award from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities.

The award recognizes sustained, meritorious and exceptional teaching within food and agricultural sciences. Haggart was one of six recipients in the regional category.

Teachers in food and agriculture disciplines from around the country were considered for the award and Haggart is the first NDSU instructor to receive the honor.

Haggart earned a bachelor’s degree in bacteriology and a master’s degree in microbiology from NDSU and has been teaching at NDSU for 18 years. She currently teaches general microbiology and several labs.

West Fargo team wins barbecue cook-off

The competition barbecue team from Spitfire Bar and Grill, West Fargo, was named the grand champion of the Big Buffalo Crossing BBQ Cook-Off held Oct. 19 in Mundfordville, Ky.

The teams cooked four meat categories as part of the Kansas City Barbecue Society-sanctioned contest. Spitfire was awarded first place in the rib category along with first in overall points.

Jesse Tischer receives ACHE Regent’s Award

Jesse Tischer, chief operating officer of the Sanford Health Network, Fargo and Sioux Falls, S.D., has received the American College of Healthcare Executives Early Career Healthcare Executive Regent’s Award.

The award recognizes ACHE members who have made significant contributions to the advancement of health care management excellence and the achievement of ACHE’s goals.

Tischer was vice president of operations for Sanford Health Network from 2010 to 2013 when he was named COO for Sanford Health Network. He is also an active certified flight paramedic with Sanford AirMed.

He graduated from North Dakota State University with a bachelor’s degree, and he earned a master’s degree in health care administration from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.

Flom tops sales, listing leader in October

Beau Flom has been named the top sales leader and top listing leader for October at Keller Williams Roers Realty, Fargo.

Hansen appointed to manufacturers’ board

John Hansen, business banker at Bell State Bank and Trust, Fergus Falls, Minn., has been appointed to fill a vacant term on the board of directors for Tri-State Manufacturers’ Association. Hansen’s term will run through 2014.

Wetch, Serkland Law Firm earn honors

Joseph Wetch has been selected as a future star in the 2014 edition of Benchmark Litigation. Wetch has been with Serkland Law Firm in Fargo for 12 years and practices in the areas of personal injury, commercial litigation and insurance and medical malpractice defense.

The Serkland Law Firm has also been recognized as a national Tier 1 Best Law Firm in 10 practice areas by U.S. News and Best Lawyers for 2014.

It was selected as the only firm in North Dakota with a Tier 1 ranking in the litigation-construction, arbitration and mediation categories.

Veterinary hospital earns accreditation

Valley Veterinary Hospital, 3210 Main Ave., Fargo, has been awarded accreditation by the American Animal Hospital Association.

Accredited hospitals choose to be evaluated on approximately 900 quality standards ranging from care and pain management to staff training and advanced diagnostic services.

DFC Consultants names customers of year

DFC Consultants, Fargo, a gold-certified Microsoft partner, has awarded its 2013 Customer of the Year awards.

The winners and categories included: Pride, Inc., Bismarck, Cloud Customer of the Year; Ho-Chunk Housing and Community Development Agency, Tomah, Wis., Property Management Customer of the Year; and Development Homes, Grand Forks, Dynamics Customer of the Year.

Each business was recognized with an award based on their use and knowledge of software systems utilized and their measurable success and productivity in their industry.