« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports , Published November 08 2013

Honors and officers - 11/09/13

Rough Rider Kiwanis elects new officers

The Rough Rider Kiwanis Club in Fargo has elected new officers for 2013-14.

Those elected include Eddie Johs, president; Kent Hochgraber, lieutenant governor for District 2; Rachael Disrud, president elect; Donald Peterson, treasurer; James Kenward, secretary; and Jason Doty, past president.

Board members for the new year are Pete Thrall, Dean Ferguson, Mike Hubbard and David Ferguson.

The Rough Rider Kiwanis Club meets at noon on Mondays in the community room at Cash Wise in Fargo.

Goehring appoints four to organic board

Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring has appointed Heidi Demars, Bismarck; Daneen Dressler, Richardton; Wayne Mittleider, Tappen; and Theresa Podoll, Fullerton, to the North Dakota Organic Advisory Board.

The board provides the North Dakota Department of Agriculture with information and ideas to better identify and meet organic industry needs.

Demars is a consumer representative on the board. She is a 2013 Bush Fellow currently organizing the BisMan Community Food Co-op. Representing processors, Dressler is vice president and co-owner of Stone Mill, Inc., Richardton, and farms near Richardton, raising cattle and cash crops.

Mittleider is chairman of the North Dakota Chapter 2 Organic Crop Improvement Association and represents organic certifying agencies. He farms near Tappen, raising organic spring wheat, oats, flax, barley, buckwheat, lentils, corn and cattle.

Podoll represents specialty crop/vegetable producers. She is co-owner of Prairie Road Organic Farm in Fullerton, producing organic garden seeds, and seeds for rye, oats, millet and buckwheat for the organic grain market.

Mittleider and Podoll will serve full, two-year terms; Demars and Dressler will fill out vacancies on the board.

Local law firms make ‘Best Lawyers’ list

The Dorsey & Whitney and the Kennelly O’Keeffe law firms, both in Fargo, have been honored with National Tier 1 rankings by U.S. News and World Report and Best Lawyers.

Dorsey & Whitney was ranked in the employment law-management practice area and Kennelly O’Keeffe in the real estate category.

Mary Kay director earns 10th pink Cadillac

Karen Jorgenson, Fargo, a Mary Kay independent sales director, has earned her 10th Mary Kay pink Cadillac, the most coveted incentive awarded by Mary Kay. The Cadillac will be her 11th Mary Kay career car.

Jorgenson has been with Mary Kay since 1994 and she became an independent sales director in 1996.

The Lodge in DL wins Best Western Awards

The Lodge on Lake Detroit, Detroit Lakes, Minn., was recognized with the M.K. Guertin, Champion Customer Care and Best Western Green awards at Best Western International’s 2013 Convention held recently in San Antonio.

The M.K. Guertin award is given to properties that have represented the vision of Best Western’s founder and best demonstrated exceptional levels of service, quality, value and commitment to the brand. The Champion Customer Care Award honors properties that demonstrate and best exemplify exceptional levels of service and care. The Green Award is earned by properties that demonstrate a commitment to sustaining resources and reducing their carbon footprint.

Chris Holland-Mehlhaff and her husband, Scott Mehlhaff, own and operate The Lodge. Chris is a second generation Best Western governor and third generation Holland family hotelier. The Holland-Mehlhaff’s also own and operate Best Western Plus Holland House, Detroit Lakes, and Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites, Grand Marais, Minn.

Toastmasters group names new officers

Top O’ the Morning Toastmasters, a club focusing on building leadership and communication skills, has named its 2013-14 officers.

The officers are Jaclyn Knutson, president; Dan Chihos, vice president of education; Brett Gilbertson, vice president of public relations; Carmen Bruhn, vice president of membership; Eloise Deihl, secretary; Roger Johnson, treasurer; and Carolyn Ballard, sergeant at arms.

The group meets every first, third and fifth Tuesday of the month at the Fargo Public Library’s Fercho Conference Room.

St. Francis makes Top 100 HomeCare Elite

St. Francis Home Health, Breckenridge, Minn., has been named to the Top 100 of the 2013 HomeCare Elite, a recognition of the top-performing home health agencies in the United States.

Winners are ranked by an analysis of publicly available performance measures in quality outcomes, best practice implementation, patient experience, quality improvement and consistency, and financial performance.

Vikingland Kiwanis install new officers

The Moorhead Vikingland Kiwanis Club has installed new officers and board members for 2013-14.

Officers include Colleen Hyde, president; Ivan Johnson, president-elect; Chuck Gulsvig, vice president; Jim Welch, secretary; and Scott Ellingson, treasurer.

Additional members of the board are Oscar Bergos, Becky Cusey, Gerry Ohe, Curt Hagness, Dale White and Dennis Fjeld, immediate past president.

Outgoing board members Dan Graning, Sandi Paulson and Teresa Warne were recognized for several years of service.

Vikingland Kiwanis meets Wednesday mornings at the Moorhead Country Club and guests are welcome. Visit www.moorheadvikinglandkiwanis.org.

Red River Zoo earns Edward H. Bean Award

The Red River Zoo, Fargo, has received the 2013 Edward H. Bean Award from the Association of Zoos and Aquariums for its long-term propagation and management of red pandas.

The award, established in 1956 in honor of the first director of Chicago’s Brookfield Zoo and one of the founders of AZA, recognizes propagation or management programs that contribute to the reproductive success of one or more species and/or subspecies.