« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports , Published October 25 2013

Honors and officers - 10/26/13

Harrington, Campion earn dean’s awards

Rebecca Harrington, Extension educator in youth development, has received the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Field-Based Faculty, and Peter Campion, Extension educator in leadership and civic engagement, received the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Diversity and Inclusion from University of Minnesota Extension Dean Bev Burgan.

Harrington and Campion are based in the Extension regional office in Moorhead.

Harrington was recognized for playing a significant leadership role in moving priorities of the Center for Youth Development by using applied research and education. She also provided leadership in addressing the 4-H membership retention rate in Minnesota.

Campion’s leadership and civic engagement team established a multicultural literacy program, which led communities to make room for diverse leadership across Minnesota. Other members of the team were: Ryan Allen, Eriks Dunens, Mary Ann Hennen, Lisa Hinz, Jody Horntvedt, Mike Liepold, Barb Radke, Catherine Rasmussen, Lori Rothstein, Toby Spanier, Denise Stromme, and Denise Trudeau Poskas.

Braham garners Kolbe Dynamynd Award

Daryl Braham, CEO and co-owner of Fargo-based Prudential Premier Real Estate and Heritage Homes, has won the Kolbe Dynamynd Award for Compassion, Mission and Vision in leading others toward achieving goals.

Braham is a certified Kolbe consultant and has used Kolbe wisdom with all employees of Heritage Homes and Prudential Premier, making notable and dramatic improvements in communication companywide.

High Point Networks earns ShoreTel Award

High Point Networks, West Fargo, has received an award from ShoreTel for outstanding customer satisfaction and loyalty.

ShoreTel measures customer experience using the globally recognized Net Promoter Score to drive improvement in customer loyalty, ensure profitable growth and recognize top performing partners.

High Point Network’s score exceeds what is considered a world-class level of professionalism and customer care in the industry.

Border States earns distribution award

Affiliated Distributors has recognized Border States Electric, Fargo, with its Spirit of Independence Award for Affiliate of the Year, Performance. The award recognizes sales growth with AD vendors, implementation of vending and overall performance in the industrial supply division.

Myhre garners pro of the year honor

Ryan Myhre, junior development tennis director at Courts Plus Community Fitness, Fargo, has been awarded the Frank Voigt Pro of the Year by the U.S. Tennis Association Northern Section. Myhre has been with Courts Plus since 1998.

Erickson to serve 3-year term on IIAND

Jon Erickson, a certified insurance counselor, has been named to a three-year term on the board of directors for Independent Insurance Agents of North Dakota.

Erickson is an insurance sales agent at Insure Forward, 1202 28th St. S., Fargo.

The IIAND was founded in 1935 and serves as a resource for independent insurance agents, offering customization, staff development and legal advocacy for its members.

Rotary club elects new officers, directors

The F-M PM Rotary Club has elected officers and directors for 2013-14. Those elected include:

Kriss Burns, Volt Workforce Solutions, president; Neil Blanchard, Advanced Business Solutions, president-elect; Ashley Hahn, Intelligent InSites, vice president and community service; Tina Ebnet, InterOffice, secretary; Laura Slicer, NDSU, treasurer; Pam Perleberg, NDSU Development Foundation, past president; Kate Kemmer, Forum Communications/JobsHQ, public relations; Holly Anderson Battocchi, Elinor Specialty Coatings, foundation chairwoman; Kyler Harder, Red River Financial, membership; Darcy Putnam, FM Area Foundation, club administrator; Andrew Hanson, Alerus Financial, sergeant at arms; Laurel Mahan, ReMax Legacy Real Estate, youth; and Chris Carlson, Juven Tours and Travel and NDSU, club trainer.

Extension pros honored at Galaxy Conference

Several members of the North Dakota State University Extension Service received awards at the recent Galaxy Conference in Pittsburgh

The winners by category are:

Epsilon Sigma Phi, Lori Scharmer, interim family economics specialist and University of Minnesota faculty/staff, distinguished team award for “Recovery After Disaster: The Family Financial Toolkit”;

National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences, Julie Garden-Robinson, food and nutrition specialist, food safety award;

National Association of County Agricultural Agents, Raquel Dugan-Dibble, Extension agent/McHenry County, achievement award; Greg Endres, area Extension specialist, Carrington Research Extension Center, distinguished service award; and Todd Weinmann, Extension agent/Cass County, search for excellence state award in young, beginning or small farmers/ranchers; Weinmann also was a national finalist in Search for Excellence in Landscape Horticulture, regional finalist in the communications category for the “Gardening Delights for All” publication and state finalist in the communications category for the video “Raised Bed Gardening With Youth”;

National Association of Extension 4-H Agents, Donna Anderson, Extension agent/Eddy and Foster counties, meritorious service award; Ellen Bjelland, Extension agent/Ward County, distinguished service award; Vanessa Hoines, Extension agent/Morton County, 25 years of service award; Sue Isbell, Extension agent/Sioux County, regional diversity award; Deb Lee, Extension agent/Ransom County, distinguished service award; Karla Meikle, Extension agent/Morton County, achievement in service award; Sharon Query, 4-H youth development specialist; and Dena Kemmet, Extension agent/Mercer County, Sara Carlson, 4-H graduate assistant, Ellen Crawford, information specialist, and Deb Tanner, graphic designer, communicator award for educational package and regional educational piece (Boundaries program); Crystal Schaunaman, Extension agent/McIntosh County, achievement in service award and regional first-time conference attendee award.

Other Extension honors include: The American Library Association’s Government Documents Roundtable selected the “Home Lawn Problems and Solutions for North Dakota” publication as a notable government document of 2012. The publication’s authors are Janet Knodel, Extension entomologist; Ron Smith, now-retired Extension horticulturist; and Alan Zuk, assistant professor in the Plant Sciences Department.