« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum News Service, Published October 14 2013

New Griggs County Commission sworn in

COOPERSTOWN, N.D. – The Monday night meeting of the Griggs County Commission lasted less than 10 minutes.

That’s all it took for the commission’s five new members to be sworn in and notarized by county officials and to elect its officers.

While short, the meeting marked what Chairman Troy Olson said will be a new chapter.

“It’ll be interesting,” he said.

Olson, John Wakefield, Shawn Steffen, Ron Dahl and Dale Pederson were all elected less than a week ago to replace now former commission members Ron Halvorson, Ronnie Edland, Dennis Halvorson, Keith Monson and Robert Johnson during a recall election.

County residents called for a recall after the commission approved a $3.5 million courthouse construction project that had failed three times at the polls.

More than 1,000 votes were cast in the recall election, held Oct. 8.