« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Greg DeVillers / Forum News Service, Published October 01 2013

Dickinson's Jahner wins Class A state golf meet; WF's Bixby takes second

GRAND FORKS – This comeback was good for a state title for Rachel Jahner.

The Dickinson senior shot a 77 on Tuesday, giving her a two-day total of 156 and medalist honors at the North Dakota Class A state girls golf tournament. In the team race, Bismarck Century overtook first-day leader Grand Forks Red River, shooting a 723 to edge the Roughriders by one stroke at Grand Forks Country Club.

Jahner was in fourth place after Monday’s opening 18 holes, five strokes behind leader Ashley Bixby of West Fargo, who finished in second place. A year ago, Jahner shot an 83 on the first day of the state tournament, but closed out with a 72 to force a playoff, which she ended up losing.

I was in the same spot last year,” Jahner said. “I knew I could come back. I’ve been in that situation. I just knew I had to stay focused, to just play it shot to shot.”

Jahner played a steady round, with one double bogey and four birdies. The last was on No. 18, when she preserved her one-stroke lead by sinking a putt from about 20 feet.

It was too long a putt – until it went in,” Jahner said. “I tried not to let my nerves get to me. I felt I could make it. I hit a long putt last year to get into a playoff. I was thinking about that as I walked up to the green.

The first time I even knew I was in the lead today was when I was hitting on No. 18.”

Second place was a letdown for Bixby. The Packers senior led by two entering the day. She struggled to a 46 on the first nine, then played her way back into contention.

It was a little disappointing on the front nine,” Bixby said. “I got in a hole, but I worked out of it on the back nine. But Rachel made that amazing putt.”

Annie Nelson of Century placed third at 160, with Riana Cooper of Dickinson and Katie Kasper of Bismarck tying for fourth at 1162.

Nelson led Century’s comeback. The Patriots shot a 357 on the first round to trail Red River by six. But Century bounced back with the best team score on Tuesday, a 366, to claim the title. Century won the championship despite losing No. 2 player Lauren Bischoff to an injury earlier this season.

It hurt us,” Century coach Cherlene Nelson said. “We haven’t won any tournaments for awhile. But we were always close.

I knew we had a chance. And the girls shot really well. It was our depth.”

Losing out on a title was a disappointment for Red River, which was led by Casey DeBeltz’s 164. DeBeltz is the lone senior in the Red River lineup.

There was no pressure on us today because nobody expected us to be where we were to start the day,” Red River coach Ann Arnason said. “It’s mixed emotions now. It is disappointing to lead by one and not win. But second place – we were looking to compete for a top-five finish. To get second, that’s great.”

Team: Bismarck Century 723, Grand Forks Red River 724, Fargo North 726, Fargo Davies 727, Dickinson 730, West Fargo 732, Bismarck 737, Wahpeton 741, Fargo Shanley 745, Minot 762, Jamestown 765, Mandan 782, Grand Forks Central 795.

Top 10: 1, Jahner, D, 156. 2, Bixby, WF, 157. 3, Nelson, BC, 160. 4 (tie), Cooper, D; Kasper, B, 162. 6 (tie), K. Marsh, FD; Bennion, J, 163, 163. 8 (tie), DeBeltz, RR; J. Marsh, FD, 164. 10, Long, FN, 169.

Results by team

Bismarck: Miller 189, Gilje 194, Huntley 204, Craven 199, Bergan 204.

Bismarck Century: Blazek 185, Smith 189, Doppler 196, Smith 198, Fleming 203.

Devils Lake: Voss 235.

Dickinson: Lantz 205, Charchenko 217, Yon 222, Kessel 228.

Fargo Davies: Kosir 202, Brossart 203, Davison 207, Forknell 220.

Fargo North: Sklebar 181, Spiess 192, Jenson 193, Berg 195, Kvidera 200.

Fargo Shanley: Thimjon 182, Ohm 190, Hanson 192, Armstrong 196, Corbid 198.

Fargo South: Grothmann 184.

Grand Forks Central: Ferguson 189, Marshall 195, Good 198, Swenson 21,4 Reiter 234, McGee 268.

Grand Forks Red River: Caoili 186, Seaver 187, Hetleved 188, Whalen 193, DeBeltz 219.

Jamestown: LeFevre 195, Azure 202, Mullowney 205, LeFevre 219, Kramlich 232.

Mandan: Helbling 188, Mongeon 192, Schulz 200, Mongeon 208, Broeckel 214, Higlin 234.

Minot: Bender 182, Argent 188, Reynolds 193, Arlien 199, Williamson 203, Foltz 220.

Wahpeton: Hasselhorst 175, Hibl 181, Darwin 183, Rubish 202, DeVillers 211, Breuer 223.

West Fargo: Peterson 184, Peterson 193, Rheault 200, Froemke 206, Kraft 215.


Senior athlete of the year: Kathleen Marsh, Fargo Davies.

Co-coaches of the year: Dan Wolf, West Fargo; Sara Berglund, Dickinson.

Devillers writes for the Grand Forks Herald