« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports , Published August 30 2013

Honors and officers - 08/31/13

Vogel attorneys named to Best Lawyers 2014

Several Vogel Law Firm attorneys have been recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2014 in their respective practice areas. The attorneys include:

Daniel Vogel, product liability litigation-defendants and professional malpractice law-defendants; H. Patrick Weir Jr., personal injury litigation-plaintiffs; Brenda Blazer, medical malpractice law-defendants; Joel Gilbertson, administrative/regulatory law, government relations and insurance law; and Leslie Bakken Oliver, health care law.

Ankers named to 2013 Super Lawyers list

Alisha Ankers has been selected for inclusion in the 2013 Great Plains Super Lawyers list for the third consecutive year.

Ankers is a family law attorney practicing in North Dakota and Minnesota. Super Lawyers lists the top 5 percent of attorneys in a state or region who have attained a high level of recognition and professional achievement.

Honorees are identified through peer surveys and independent research.

White is the 2013 Realtor of the Year

LuAnn White has been named the 2013 Realtor of the Year by the Fargo-Moorhead Area Association of Realtors.

The award is the highest given to a member of the association and represents outstanding achievements serving the FMAAR, the real estate profession and the local communities.

White has been a Realtor with Coldwell Banker First Realty in Fargo for 14 years.

She is a past president of the FMAAR and currently serves on the board of directors.

City forester earns international honor

Scott Liudahl, an International Society of Arboriculture certified arborist and the city forester in Fargo, has been named a True Professional of Arboriculture by the ISA.

Among his achievements, Liudahl partnered with other community agencies to work with at-risk teenagers on the Valley Green Team, which allowed young men to join the forestry staff and help out with ground operations during the summer season.

He and his team also planted shelter belt trees in various locations throughout Fargo and he helped develop a pre-mitigation program to minimize the impact of the emerald ash borer.

Liudahl also promotes ISA certified arborists and requires full-time forestry staff to reach the designation along with completing continuing education.

Spitfire Grill wins reserve championship

The competition barbecue team from Spitfire Bar & Grill, West Fargo, was named reserve champion at the Blazin’ Barbecue Blast held in July in Madelia, Minn.

The team, led by chief cook, Tim Olson, competed in all four meat categories as part of the Kansas City Barbecue Society sanctioned contest.

Spitfire placed second in overall points and was awarded first place in chicken and pulled pork and third place in ribs.

Hartman elected to Chairman’s Council

Steven R. Hartman, Fargo, has been elected as a member of the 2013 Chairman’s Council of New York Life Insurance Co.

Members of the council rank in the top 3 percent of Yew York Life’s licensed agents.

Hartman has been a New York Life agent since 1980 and has qualified for the council for 33 consecutive years.

Legion Auxiliary installs officers for 2013-14

The Fargo American Legion Auxiliary installed officers for 2013-14. Officers include:

Mavis Goodroad, president; LaVonne Matthews, vice president; Shauna Dubuque, secretary; Barb Nash, treasurer; Marcy Schmidt, historian; Adelle Salverson, chaplain; and Brenda Kerbaugh and Ginny Borgan, sergeant at arms.

Two members of Unit 2 have been elected officers of the North Dakota Department of the Auxiliary. They are: Marcy Schmidt, vice president; and LaVonne Matthews, treasurer.

Realtor earns award for distinguished service

Konrad Olson of Konrad Olson Commercial Real Estate, Fargo, has received the 2013 Distinguished Service Award from the Fargo-Moorhead Area Association of Realtors.

The award was created to honor individuals who have many years of dedicated involvement to FMAAR, the real estate profession and the community.

Olson, a past president of the FMAAR, also received a pin commemorating 25 years of membership with the FMAAR.