« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Cali Owings, Published August 21 2013

2 more candidates apply to be interim ND University System chancellor

BISMARCK – Two more candidates have applied to be the North Dakota University System’s interim chancellor, according to application materials obtained Wednesday by The Forum.

The addition of Michael Wartell, chancellor emeritus of Indiana University- Purdue University Fort Wayne, and Curtis Haugtvedt, associate professor of marketing at Ohio State University, brings the total pool of applicants to 16.

The interim chancellor will fill in for Hamid Shirvani – the former chancellor whose contract was bought out in June for nearly $1 million – at least until the outcome of a November 2014 vote on whether to abolish the State Board of Higher Education is known.

The board hopes to have the interim chancellor in place by the end of September. The board will discuss the interim chancellor search and plan for interviews during its monthly meeting on Friday.

Wartell served as IPFW’s chancellor from 1994-2012. He’s suing the school for gender discrimination, alleging he was forced to retire because he is a man. Since stepping down, Wartell holds the title of chancellor emeritus.

Ohio State’s Haugvedt is a North Dakota State University alum. He earned bachelor’s degrees in psychology, sociology and criminal justice before earning master’s and doctorate degrees at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

The other applicants:

E Acting Chancellor Larry Skogen, who was appointed to the post following Shirvani’s buyout. Skogen is also the president of Bismarck State College.

E Former Fargo mayor Bruce Furness, who also served as interim director and CEO of North Dakota’s Workforce Safety and Insurance division following a period of high turnover and alleged illegal activity.

E Shane Goettle, North Dakota commerce commissioner from 2005 to 2010 and state director for U.S. Sen. John Hoeven, R-N.D., in 2011. Goettle now is the assistant city attorney for Minot, director of public affairs for Odney and co-owner and director of JAG Gravel in western North Dakota.

E Kendall Blanchard, now in his seventh year as president at Georgia Southwestern State University and finalist for the North Dakota chancellor position nine years ago.

E Gordon Davies, who most recently was a senior adviser on the Lumina Foundation’s “Making Opportunity Affordable” project to increase access to higher education.

E Ruben Lackman, a 20-year teacher at Mandan High School who retired in 1999 and also taught classes at Bismarck State College and the University of Mary.

E David Lee, a substitute teacher for Bismarck Public Schools from 2008 to 2012 and superintendent of Halliday Public School from 2006 to 2008.

E Duane Pool, an affiliate faculty member at Colorado State University and adjunct faculty member at Bismarck State College who also taught economics at the University of Mary and Rasmussen College in Bismarck.

E Michael Renk, who retired in January after 15 years as the vice president for administrative affairs at North Dakota State College of Science.

E Henry “Bud” Wessman, chairman of the University of North Dakota School of Medicine’s Department of Physical Therapy from 1967 to 1993 and appeals resolution consultant for Noridian Administrative Services since 2009.

E Jack Young, owner of Roanoke, Ind., personal financial adviser company Trust Financial Solutions since 2006.

E David Pollick, who works at a Pennsylvania-based firm specializing in planning and design services for college campuses.

E Thomas Henry, a longtime senior-level administrator at higher education institutions in Arizona, Wyoming, Indiana and Colorado.

E Scott Hoaby, a Fargo native who most teaches American politics at the College of the Canyons in Valencia, Calif.

Readers can reach Forum reporter

Cali Owings at (701) 241-5599