« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports , Published August 02 2013

Honors and officers - 08/03/13

Buffalo Wild Wings franchise earns award

LaHaise Management, Fargo, doing business as Buffalo Wild Wings, has been named the 2012 Multi-Unit Operator of the Year among all Buffalo Wild Wings franchise groups.

Todd LaHaise is owner and president of LaHaise Management, which opened its first Buffalo Wild Wings location in Fargo near the Fargodome in 2000. Other stores have since been opened in Grand Forks, Bismarck, Moorhead, and in Watertown, Brookings and Sioux Falls, all in South Dakota.

Scottish Rite members honored for service

Several members of the Scottish Rite of North Dakota have been honored by the Supreme Council in North Dakota for their service to the Scottish Rite and to their communities. All are from North Dakota unless otherwise noted.

Those elected to receive the 33rd Degree, or Inspector General honorary, are Richard T. Olsen, Bismarck; Harold L. McConnell, Cavalier; Miles L. Christianson, Northwood; Stanley H. Wicker, East Grand Forks, Minn.; Carrol T. Juven, Fargo; and Elwood N. Landsverk, Minot.

Those elected to receive the Knight Commander Court of Honor award are William R. Rafferty and Alvin K. Wold, Watford City; Rodney E. Landers, Kenmare; George H. Vettel, Fargo; William R. Wedberg, Hunter; Craig A. Ramsdell, Moorhead; Drew A. Combs, James C. Krohn and Robert J. Graveline, Bismarck; Rodney J. Uecker, Langdon; Cory R. Lein and Curtis D. Rust, Grand Forks; and Michael R. Bakken, Mayville.

A ceremony of investiture is scheduled on Feb. 1 in Fargo.

Lee’s Roofing earns Perfection Award

Carlisle SynTec Systems, a manufacturer of single-ply roofing materials, has named Lee’s Roofing and Sheet Metal Co., Fargo, as the recipient of its 2013 Perfection Award.

The award annually recognizes Carlisle’s most dedicated and quality-minded authorized contractors and is given based on installation quality and warranty claim performance.

Spitfire BBQ team named grand champion

The competition barbecue team from Spitfire Bar and Grill, West Fargo, was named the grand champion at the Bend of the River Cook Out June 29 in Mankato, Minn.

The team competed in four meat categories as part of the Kansas City Barbecue Society-sanctioned contest.

Spitfire placed first in overall points and was also awarded first place in the chicken and pulled pork categories and second place in the rib category.

DMF presents 19 achievement awards

Nineteen organizations and their charity boards have been honored with achievement awards from Dakota Medical Foundation, Fargo.

The awards recognize a group’s use of new approaches to strengthen director engagement and donor relationships over the past year. Grant funding of $69,750 accompanied the awards.

Those honored are Anne Carlsen Center, CCRI, Elks Camp Grassick, Family HealthCare, FirstLink, Freedom Resource Center, Grand Forks Parks and Recreation, Helping Enderlin Thrive (HEART), HERO, Hope Inc., Rape and Abuse Crisis Center, Red River Children’s Advocacy Center, Ronald McDonald House Charities, TNT Kid’s Fitness, Community of Care, Northlands Rescue Mission, RiverView Foundation, YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties and YWCA Cass Clay.

Ronald McDonald House Charities and TNT Kid’s Fitness and their boards received special recognition for adopting the most fundraising, mission awareness and donor opportunities.

Mathias earns national award for client service

Michael Mathias, a Northwestern Mutual wealth management adviser in Fargo, has received the company’s group disability top producer in the nation award.

He earned the award based on an outstanding year of helping clients achieve financial security.

Tomasko to participate in AARP program

Mike Tomasko, West Fargo, is one of 24 AARP volunteers nationwide chosen to participate in AARP’s Volunteer Leadership Institute, a 13-month program designed to elevate highly skilled and motivated AARP volunteers to the next level of volunteer leadership.

Tomasko, 68, retired in 2007 after a 35-year career in health care administration in North Dakota. Thirty of those years were spent in Bismarck where he served as chief executive officer of Mid Dakota Clinic and as an administrator of the PrimeCare health group.

He was president of the Bismarck-Mandan Chamber of Commerce, chairman of the Bismarck Folkfest celebration and is a recipient of the North Dakota Chamber of Commerce community service award.

Talkin’ Cloud list names Corporate Technologies

Corporate Technologies has been ranked among the Top 100 Cloud Service Providers in Nine Lives Media’s Talkin’ Cloud 100 report.

The report is based on data from an online survey and on annual cloud services revenue growth.

Corporate Technologies provides information technology solutions to businesses and institutions in Minnesota, North Dakota, Idaho, California, Michigan and New Jersey.

NDSU alumni group picks officers, members

The Alumni Association at North Dakota State University has named new officers and board members. The board, which includes 30 alumni, one student representative and NDSU President Dean L. Bresciani, represents more than 80,000 alumni.

Officers are Wayne Schluchter (1982), St. Cloud, Minn., chief executive officer of Schluchter Investment Advisors, past chairman of the board; Scott Handy (1980), Fargo, president and CEO of Cass County Electric Cooperative, chairman; John Erickson (1980), Fergus Falls, Minn., former president and CEO and current board member of Otter Tail Corp., vice chairman; Brian Houkom (1980), West Fargo, CEO of Western State Bank, secretary/treasurer.

New board members are Thomas Campbell (1983), Grafton, N.D., partner, Campbell Farms; Jonelle Burdick (1979), Fargo, enterprise vice president, Sanford Home Services; Scott Stofferahn (1980), Fargo, executive vice president, Golden Growers Cooperative; and Andrea Travnicek, (2001, 2004, 2008)), Bismarck, senior policy adviser, North Dakota governor’s office.

Fargo West Rotary elects officers, board

The Fargo West Rotary has elected new officers and board members. The group meets Mondays at noon at the Holiday Inn, Fargo.

New officers are Ryan McManus, president; Mary Johnson, president-elect; Zac Paulson, vice president; John Trombley, past president, Jennifer Dahl, secretary; and Cory Badinger, treasurer.

New board members are Doug Burchill, Bruce Karevold, Erik Kantrud and Betty Opheim.

Returning members are Deb Magnuson, Gerry Brossart, Leann Wolff, Kathleen Toft, Brad Dahl, Joyce Linnerud Fowler and Susan Giesel.