« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports , Published July 26 2013

Honors and officers - 07/27/13

Food bank appoints committee leaders

The Great Plains Food Bank has appointed its 2013-2014 statewide advisory committee leadership. Those appointed are:

Marti Sunderlin, Hornbacher’s Foods, president; Aaron Becher, The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead, vice president; and Jenni Monson, a community volunteer, secretary.

New committee members are: Cher Hersrud, Fargo-Moorhead Area Foundation; and Shannon Schweigert, Giving Point. Other committee members are: Stacey Belka, Warner and Co. Insurance; Tai Clark, Salvation Army; David Maring, Maring Williams Law Office; Pat Leonard, Sanford Health; Keith Gilleshammer, Anchorage; Diane Nelson, Bremer Bank; Michael Buesgens, North Dakota State University; and David Martin, Choice Financial Group.

Marco receives best workplace honors

Marco has received Minnesota’s top workplace award and its highest employee satisfaction score in the wave of its largest employee growth in the company’s history. The St. Cloud-based technology provider added 310 employees in the past year.

The company has been named one of the Top 100 Workplaces in Minnesota by the Star Tribune and Minnesota Business and also received the 2013 Best Place to Work by the Minneapolis-St. Paul Business Journal.

The results of Marco’s annual employee survey scored the company 4.62 in work satisfaction on a 5-point scale, up from 4.22 a year ago and the highest value in the survey’s 25-year history.

Marco employees also gave the company high scores in training and continuous improvement. Employees ranked the company’s employee ownership as most important to them. Marco’s stock value increased 44 percent last year.

Dacotah Paper honored by Cascades Tissue

Dacotah Paper Co., Fargo, has received an environmental achievement award from Cascades Tissue Group.

Dacotah Paper earned the award for 2012 by offering its customers 100 percent recycled Away-from-Home tissue, which conserved 8,453 trees compared to the sale of virgin fiber products.

Lardy to lead national animal sciences group

Greg Lardy, head of the animal sciences department at North Dakota State University, has been named president of the American Society of Animal Sciences, the top organization for animal science professionals, spanning government, industry and academic careers worldwide.

As president, Lardy will represent the society at regional, national and international meetings, work with other societies in the sciences and agriculture, and implement the society’s strategic plan.

Lardy has been a professor of animal sciences since 2009 and was a state beef cattle specialist from 1997 to 2009.

Aasness Auctioneers earns marketing award

United Country Aasness Auctioneers received a national marketing award at the recent National Association of Auctioneers conference and show in Indianapolis.

Judged by USA Today, the company received the award in the farm and equipment auctions multi-color brochure category.

The company has offices in Fergus Falls, Dalton and Bemidji, all in Minnesota, and in Pauls Valley, Okla.

Five Border States employees ‘rising stars’

TED, the official publication of the National Association of Electrical Distributors, has named five Border States Electric employee-owners in its 2013 “30 Under 35” list of rising stars from across the electrical industry.

Those included on the list are: Neil Gartin, south-central and southwest region inventory analyst team lead; Nick Longfors, branch operations supervisor, Fargo; Shane McMenamy, branch manager, Grand Forks; Treavor Peterson, strategic services manager; and Tony Serati, purchasing manager.

Postal credit union receives two awards

The Postal Family Federal Credit Union in Fargo earned first place in the Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award (less than $50 million in assets), and first place in the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award ($5 million to $20 million in assets).

The awards, which recognize the credit union’s efforts in community involvement and financial literacy, were presented at the recent Credit Union Association of the Dakotas Summit in Grand Forks.

NDSU Development names officers, board

The North Dakota State University Development Foundation has named new officers and trustees for the coming year. They are:

Jonal Uglem (1977), past chairwoman; Ryn Pitts (1971 and 1982), chairwoman; John S. Wold (1966), vice chairman; Robert Challey (1967), secretary; and Steve Swiontek, (1978 and honorary doctorate 2006), treasurer. Douglas P. Mayo is the foundation’s president and chief executive officer.

New members of the board are: Sue Andrews (1974), Rob Lauf (1986), Mike Krueger (1971), Julie Barner, a friend of NDSU, Dr. David Glatt (1969), Mark Walstead (1978), Frank Meyers (1956 and 1961) and David S. Maring, (1971).

Dale Carnegie project award recipient named

Bruce Harner won the innovation project award during the Dale Carnegie Leadership Training for Managers course he completed in Fargo.

The recipient for the award is voted on by class members upon completion of the course series. The innovation project objective is to lead team members through brainstorming, consensus-building, decision-making and concept implementation to achieve significant, measurable results for their team and their organizations.

Harner is from Kindred, N.D., and is employed by Cummins NPower, Fargo.

North Dakota Ag Coalition elects officers

The North Dakota Ag Coalition has elected four officers to its executive board.

Those elected are: Fred Helbling, Mandan, with the North Dakota Stockmen’s Association, chairman; and Paul Mathiason, Grand Forks, with the Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers Association, vice chairman. Both will serve two-year terms.

Bruce Freitag, Scranton, with the North Dakota Wheat Commission, was elected to a three-year term as the small grains representative, and Bob Runck, Casselton, with the North Dakota Soybean Growers Association, was elected to a three-year term as the row crop representative.

Also serving a continuing three-year term on the executive board is Darrell Oswald, Wing, with the North Dakota Stockmen’s Association, who is the livestock representative.

McCann-Koerselman earns MDRT honors

Patrice McCann-Koerselman, Horace, N.D., a representative for Modern Woodmen of America, has achieved membership in the Million Dollar Round Table, an international, independent association of life insurance and financial services professionals.

MDRT members demonstrate exceptional professional knowledge, strict ethical conduct and outstanding client service.

Siverson named to top ND business watch list

Fargo native Chris Siverson has being selected for the North Dakota Business Watch Top 40 Professionals Under Forty 2013.

He is a partner at Great Plains Financial Group, Fargo.