« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published July 22 2013

Namedroppers (July 21)

MAKING THE GRADE: Alex Altenbernd, Moorhead, has been named to the dean’s list at the University of St. Thomas, St. Paul.

Allison Ash, Moorhead, has been named to the dean’s list at the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota.

NDSU NEWS: North Dakota State University has awarded a $12,000 Presidential Scholarship to Bradley Conant, son of John and Mary Conant, of Fargo. The scholarship requires the student to score a 32 or higher on the ACT. Conant also received the NDSU National Merit Scholarship, which provides free tuition over four years.

MSUM NEWS: Bradley Ostendorf, a 2012 Minnesota State University Moorhead accounting graduate, was one of 39 winners of the 2012 Elijah Watt Sells Award, announced by the American Institute of CPAs. The award is given to candidates who have obtained a cumulative average score above 95.50 across all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination, completed testing during the 2012 calendar year and passed all four sections of the examination on their first attempt. More than 92,000 candidates sat for the examination in 2012. Thirty-nine candidates met the criteria.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: Western State Bank has awarded $250 savings scholarships to West Fargo students Matthew Hewitt and Nolan Becher as part of its scholastic recognition program, Western Pays for A’s. Students in grades 6- 12 are encouraged to bring in their report cards to Western State Bank each quarter. In return for A’s, students are given a packet of coupons or gift certificates from area businesses. The bank also awards two $250 scholarships each semester for those in grades 9-12 who brought in their report cards. Students receive an entry for each A they earn.

The Moorhead Community & Technical College Foundation has awarded $1,000 scholarships to Herdina Academy for the Construction Trades graduates Jacob Ochsner, son of Larry and Connie Ochsner, Glyndon, Minn., and Jose Chavez, son of Edilma and Juan Chavez, Casselton, N.D. The Herdina Academy is a collaboration between the HBA of F-M, Home Builders Care of Fargo-Moorhead Foundation, MSCTC Moorhead and the North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton. It is a two-week course held each June that introduces high school students to the construction industry.

Augustana College, Sioux Falls, S.D., has awarded scholarships to Katie Elness and Ashlee Wiebe, of Fargo. Elness was awarded the Augustana Leadership Scholarship and Wiebe received the Trustees Honors Scholarship.

COLLEGE BOUND: Logan Baker, of Callaway, Minn., has been accepted to attend the University of Minnesota, Morris.

INTERNS AND PAGES: The following area students will intern this summer for Sen. Heidi Heitkamp in her North Dakota and Washington offices:

E Cora Bollinger, of Mapleton, N.D., is majoring in political science at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.

E Jared Gilmour, of Fargo, is studying journalism and English at Northwestern University, Chicago.

E Jessica Roscoe, of New Rockford, N.D., is studying communication and global studies at Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

E Bryce Hample, of LaMoure, N.D., recently graduated from North Dakota State University with a degree in horticulture and agriculture production.

TWIRLING NEWS: The following members of the YMCA of Cass Clay Silver Star Baton Twirlers placed in the All-North Regional competition recently held in Oshkosh, Wis.:

• Paige Warren, 15, placed first in marching and two baton and second in solo twirling.

• Kaycee Froysland, 15, won first in marching and third in solo twirling.

• Rachel Green, 14, won first in solo twirling and two baton and third in show twirling, solo twirling, modeling and marching.

• Jessica Green, 10, won first in modeling and second in marching.

• Laura Green, 9, won first in marching and solo, second in marching and solo, and third in solo twirling.

• Elizabeth Bertel, 9, won first in marching and solo twirling, second in solo, marching, two baton and modeling and third in overall pageant events.

The girls are all from Fargo and are coached by Merrie Sue Holtan, Shaina Magel, Amanda Casselton, Aimee Kamrath and Brittany Keating.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news.