« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports , Published July 12 2013

Honors and officers - 07/13/13

Miller named Women in Industry Trailblazer

Tammy Miller, the chief executive officer at Border States Electric, Fargo, has been awarded the National Association of Electrical Distributors 2013 Women in Industry Trailblazer Award.

NAED presents the award annually to a woman who demonstrates pioneer leadership on behalf of women in the electrical distribution industry. Miller served in numerous volunteer roles with NAED, most notably as its first female board chairwoman in 2007-2008 during NAED’s 100-year anniversary.

Fremling earns financial professional award

Daniel Fremling has been named a member of the Million Dollar Round Table, the association of financial professionals.

The membership is recognized as the standard of excellence for those in the financial services industry who demonstrate professional knowledge, ethical conduct and client service.

Fremling has worked in the financial services industry for 31 years. He is owner of Fremling & Associates in Fargo, an affiliate of Foster Klima & Co.

NDSU professor to command Guard unit

Army Maj. Cheryl Wachenheim, a professor at North Dakota State University, has taken command of the Cottage Grove, Minn.-based 204th Area Medical Support Co.

Wachenheim joined the Minnesota National Guard in 1998, the same year she joined the faculty at NDSU where she teaches classes in economics, agricultural sales, agricultural finance, agricultural marketing and strategic marketing and management.

In 2009, she deployed to Iraq where she was able to continue teaching online classes in micro and macroeconomics. In 2012, Wachenheim deployed with the Zabul Agri-business Development Team which was helping to rebuild a sustainable agricultural economy in Afghanistan.

HCSCC receives award for Viking ship exhibit

The Historical and Cultural Society of Clay County has received a Leadership in History Award from the American Association for State and Local History for the exhibit “Hjemkomst Sagas: One Dream, A Viking Ship, Many Stories.”

The award is the most prestigious recognition for achievement in the preservation and interpretation of state and local history by the association.

The exhibit was produced by the HCSCC and curated by Claudia Pratt with assistant Amanda Nordick. The exhibit brought a fresh perspective about the Hjemkomst expedition and told the unknown stories behind the legend.

Created in honor of the 30th anniversary of the expedition, the exhibit was on display at the Hjemkomst Center from July 2012 to January 2013.

F-M AM Rotary Club elects board members

The Fargo Moorhead AM Rotary Club has elected board members for 2013-2014. Those elected include:

Kristi Huber, president; Michael Turchin, president elect; Jennifer Miller, vice president/secretary; Randy Heller, treasurer; Larry Ornberg, past president; and committee members Rick Buresh, Kim Nelson, Tom Riley, Susan Rau, Kathryn Steve, Herb Schmidt, Blake Crosby, Samantha Kiecker and Tom Thompson.

The club meets at 7 a.m. Thursdays at the Ramada Plaza and Suites in Fargo. All meetings are open to those interested in learning more about serving the community and participating in international service projects.

Thykeson graduates from leadership program

Kayla Thykeson, a project specialist for Border States Electric, Fargo, was part of the 2013 graduating class for the United Way of Cass-Clay’s 35 Under 35 women’s leadership program.

The group of up-and-coming women leaders focused on issues important to young female leaders.