« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published July 06 2013

Namedroppers - 06/07/13

NDSU NEWS: North Dakota State University has awarded Hayli Bauer, daughter of Kim and Steve Bergeson, Fargo, and Michael and Karla Bauer, Riverview, Fla., a $3,000 Freshman Academic Scholarship and a $1,000 First Year Textbook Scholarship.

MSUM NEWS: Minnesota State University Moorhead has awarded two scholarships to Shane Fisher, child of Heidi and Skip Fisher, Fargo. Fisher received a $500 Talent in Cinema Arts & Digital Technologies Scholarship and an $8,000 President’s Honors Scholarship.

HIGH HONORS: The following area students recently attended the North Dakota Leadership Seminar at the University of Mary, Bismarck: Adam Vareberg, Davies High School; Beth Podoll, Fargo North High School; Ellen Aas and Laurie Heggedal, both Fargo South High School. Students were selected based on service and leadership abilities in school as well as continued involvement in their communities.

ELECTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS: The North Dakota Federation of Music Clubs elected the following officers at its state convention in Grand Forks: Vivian Acuff, Fargo, president; Robyn Vinje, Fargo, vice president; Darcy Lackman, Center, secretary; Kris Brugamyer, Dickinson, treasurer; and Patricia Grantier, Bismarck, past president. Carolyn Nelson of Fargo is the current president of the National Federation of Music Clubs.

AND THE WINNER IS: Moorhead resident Wendy Fuglestad recently received $50 in free fuel from Tanks of Thanks, a program that rewards people who do good deeds to help make their community better. To make a nomination, visit TanksofThanks.com.

Matthew Lorenz, Fargo, recently earned first place in the high school division of the North Dakota Music Teachers Association NODAK competition in Fargo. Elizabeth Sondrol, also of Fargo, earned an honorable mention.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. Contact Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.