Associated Press, Published June 30 2013
Tougher North Dakota DUI laws going into effect MondayBISMARCK — A new law aimed at strengthening penalties for drunken driving in North Dakota takes effect on Monday.
The new law will require jail time or community service work for first-time DUI offenders who have a blood alcohol content of 0.16 percent. That's twice the state's legal limit of 0.08 percent.
The bill also would require mandatory participation in the so-called 24/7 sobriety program for repeat offenders.
A second DUI arrest also would require a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail. Under the new law, drunken drivers who cause the death of another person can face up to 20 years in prison.
The North Dakota Highway Patrol says 25 people have been killed in alcohol-related crashes so far this year in the state.