« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Tom Mix, Published June 01 2013

Bismarck Century defeats Shanley to win 7th girls soccer state championship

FARGO – Bismarck Century cashed in big playing with the wind on Saturday at Sid Cichy Stadium.

The Patriots posted a 2-1 victory over defending state champion Fargo Shanley during the championship of the North Dakota state girls soccer tournament.

It is Century’s seventh state championship, the most in state history since girls soccer was officially sanctioned by the North Dakota High School Activities Association in 1996.

“It was a great team win for us,” Century head coach Nate Ulness said. “The players really dug in for this one, especially when we were going into the wind in the second half. They played well as a group. Our back line stepped up and our goalkeeper stepped up. Everybody stepped up.”

Century (9-3-1) played with the wind in the first half and built a 2-0 lead after the first 40 minutes.

The Patriots’ first goal came at 9 minutes, 58 seconds when junior forward Joanna Jensen scored on a penalty kick. Shanley was called for a foul inside the box allowing Jensen an open chance at getting a shot past Deacons goalkeeper Jenna Zaeske.

Junior defender Rachel Glatt added another goal for the Patriots at the 14:59 mark.

“It was an unlucky first half,” Shanley head coach Kevin Roos said. “We gave up a goal on a penalty kick, which you never want to do, but it happened. Century deserves a lot of credit. They played well the entire match and top to bottom they are a solid team. It’s fun to play a team like that in the championship.”

The previous three state title matches had been decided by shootouts, including the 2011 championship which Century defeated Shanley.

The rematch went the Patriots’ way, but Shanley

(9-3-1) didn’t go down quietly.

Sophomore Kirsten Bokinskie scored in traffic following a corner-kick attempt to cut the Patriots’ lead to 2-1, but the Deacons never converted the equalizer.

“We knew it was going to be a tough game,” Jensen said. “It’s a big win for us. We knew we had to come together, stay driven and be the team that wanted it more. We did a great job. I’m so proud of everyone on the team.”

Century’s sophomore goalkeeper Amanda Leintz collected eight saves. Zaeske posted five saves for Shanley.

FIRST HALF: 1, BC, Jensen, 9:58. 2, BC, Glatt, (Pagan), 14:59.

SECOND HALF: 3, S, Bokinskie, 57:56.

SAVES: S, Zaeske 5. BC, Leintz, 8.

Third-place game

Fargo Davies 3,

Bismarck St. Mary’s

FARGO – Reiley Klose, Paige McCullough and Mackenzie Carlson scored goals for Fargo Davies helping the Eagles to a 3-0 win over Bismarck St. Mary’s in the third-place game of the North Dakota girls soccer state tournament on Saturday at Sid Cichy Stadium.

Klose scored first at 28 minutes, 39 seconds. It was her team-leading 14th goal of the season for the Eagles (11-1-1).

McCullough and Carlson scored 35 seconds apart in the final 10 minutes of regulation. McCullough’s goal came off a free kick.

The third-place victory is the highest finish in school history for Davies.

St. Mary’s finishes the season (9-3-1).

FIRST HALF: 1, FD, Klose, (Schwab), 28:39.

SECOND HALF: 2, FD, McCullough, 72:09. 3, FD, Carlson, (Nice), 72:44.

SAVES: BSM, Goettle 7. FD, Orson 9.

Fifth-place game

Fargo North 1, Bismarck 0

Junior midfielder Kate Astrup scored a goal to help Fargo North to a win over Bismarck during the fifth-place match.

Freshman forward Kalli Baarstad assisted on the goal for the Spartans (8-3-2).

Sara Bachmeier posted six saves for Bismarck (5-5-3).

FIRST HALF: 1, FN, Astrup, (Baarstad), 31:28.

SECOND HALF: No scoring.

SAVES: B, Bachmeier 6. FN, Schmiess, 3.

All-tournament team

Mandan: Mariah Fredericks

Grand Forks Red River: Jamie O’Halloran

Bismarck: Haleigh Springan, Nicole Wolfer

Fargo North: Alyssa Gross, Andie Sarafolean

Bismarck St. Mary’s: Jarren Fallgatter, Sydney Miller, Taylor Peterson

Fargo Davies: Jennifer Marsh, Mackenzie Carlson, Reiley Klose

Fargo Shanley: Anna Reinholz, Anna Triller, Julia Jordan, Kara Syvrud

Bismarck Century: Lily Obrigewitch, Kylee Welch, Taryn Neameyer, Joanna Jensen, Aly Dollinger, Alexa Pagan.

Senior Athlete of the Year

Emily Wendorff, Fargo Davies

Coach of the year

Nick Christianson, Fargo Davies

Readers can reach Forum reporter

Tom Mix at (701) 241-5562