« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published June 01 2013

Namedroppers - 06/02/13

NDSU NEWS: North Dakota State University has awarded academic scholarships to the following area students: Tyson Jorstad, son of Steve and Elaine Jorstad, Fargo, $12,000 Presidential Scholarship; Abigail Astrup, daughter of Mike and Beth Astrup, Fargo, $12,000 Presidential Scholarship; Benton Schmidt, son of Dean and Jackie Schmidt, Fargo, $10,000 Presidential Scholarship; and Kelly Bergee, daughter of Rahn and Elana Bergee, Dilworth, $5,000 Amy and William Layne Scholarship.

MSUM NEWS: Three mass communications majors at Minnesota State University Moorhead earned national honors at the Society of Professional Journalist’s 2012 Mark of Excellence Awards. Winners and entries were: Lane Zyvoloski, Sauk Rapids, Minn., “Being Queen: Life in Drag,” online feature reporting; Bryce Haugen, Moorhead, “Sanford gives $2 million to Dragon Athletics,” breaking news reporting; Kaitlyn Teske, Fargo, “Kaffestua: Sunburg Man Serves Authentic Norwegian Food,” feature photography.

CONCORDIA NEWS: The following area students have enrolled at Concordia College: Brady Syverson, son of Kevin and Jean Syverson, Fargo; Danyel Schneider, daughter of Thomas and Donna Schneider, Fargo; Adam Lacher, son of John and Renae Lacher, Fargo; Samantha Haggen, daughter of Mack and Kris Hagen, Fargo; Matthew Fulks, son of Howard and Kathleen Fulks, Fargo; Muna Banade, daughter of Muhumud Banade and Sahra Muse, Moorhead; and Casey Volness, son of Roger and Cardanne Volness, Fargo.

The following area students have been awarded scholarships to attend Concordia College: Hannah Young, daughter of Rick and Kim Young, Glyndon, Minn.; Thomas Wychor, son of Matt and Jane Wychor, Glyndon; Tanner Tweten, son of Thomas Tweten, Hawley, Minn., and Jane Aubol, Moorhead; Alexandra Rasmussen, daughter of Paul and Cheryl Rasmussen, Moorhead; Carolyn Mickelson, daughter of Todd and Peggy Mickelson, Fargo; Jordan Nappe, son of Troy and Lori Nappe, Moorhead; Andrea Klug, daughter of Dan and Connie Klug, West Fargo; Paige McCullough, daughter of Greg and Susan McCullough, Fargo; Olivia Berglund, daughter of Howard and Kimberly Berglund, Fargo; Joshua Berg, son of James and Nancy Berg, Moorhead; Eugenia Cegla, daughter of Michael and Cheryl Cegla, Moorhead; and Kristin Drechsel, daughter of Jon and Sonya Drechsel, Moorhead.

AWARDS AND OTHER RECOGNITIONS: Several area North Dakota students were honored at the 2013 International Career Development Conference in Anaheim, Calif. Students who received Award of Excellence Certificates and their schools were:

SHOUT OUTS!: Girl Scout Troop 30100 recently contributed $250 from cookie sales to the Red River Zoo for operations and animal care. The Daisy troop consists of kindergarten and first-grade girls from Hawthorne and Centennial elementary schools and the Academy for children.

INTERNS AND PAGES: North Dakota State University public relations graduate Alice Arentson and UND communications graduate Samantha Pfingsten have been hired as client relations interns at Absolute Marketing Group in Fargo. Matthew Sullivan, a computer science major at NDSU, will work as a Web intern.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: AgCountry Farm Credit Services has awarded $1,000 scholarships to the following area students: Tallen Berg, son of Mark and Lisa Berg, Nortonville, N.D.; Riley Braaten, son of David and Teresa Braaten, Kindred, N.D.; David Ehlers, son of Mark and Diane Ehlers, Elbow Lake, Minn.; Elizabeth Engelstad, daughter of Craig and Cindy Engelstad, Fertile, Minn.; Garrett Hayen, son of Michael and LaJuana Hayen, Cogswell, N.D.; Lisa Hochhalter, daughter of Jay Hochhalter, Barnesville, Minn.; Julia Holen, daughter of Doug and Kim Holen, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Johanna Knorr, daughter of Bradley and Jane Knorr, Pelican Rapids, Minn.; Emma Larson, daughter of Chad and Lynn Larson, Rothsay, Minn.; Daniel Lewis, son of Brad and Kay Lewis, Moorhead; Matthew Pederson, son of Kevin and Ruth Pederson, Wheaton, Minn.; Nolan Rockstad, son of Erik and Gretchen Rockstad, Ada, Minn.; Peder Schmitz, son of Steven and Ruth Schmitz, Wheaton, Minn.; Andrea Steinberger, daughter of Dan and Erin Steinberger, West Fargo; Shaela Tekrony, daughter of Lonnie and Starla Tekrony, Wheaton, Minn.; Sarah Thiel, daughter of Don and Donna Thiel, Hankinson, N.D.; and Donovan Zacharias, son of Vaughn and Dorinda Zacharias, Kathryn, N.D.

The North Dakota Farm Bureau Foundation has awarded scholarships to the following area students: Jacob Lardy, West Fargo, and Breanna Bregel, Carrington, N.D., both $500 Becki Palmer Scholarships; and Amy Smith, Carrington, $500 Farm Bureau Family Membership Scholarship.

The North Dakota 4-H Foundation has awarded a $500 Steve E. and Mary M. Tuhy Scholarship to 4-H member Jacob Lardy, West Fargo.

The F.M. Area Music Club has awarded scholarships to the following area students: Paul Zeller, Concordia College, Dorothy Sewall Hector Scholarship; Cydney Berlinger and Michael Petyo III, both NDSU, Agnes Jardine Scholarships; Sanders Ellingson and McKinley Solberg, both Fargo North High School, FMAMC Memorial Scholarships; Quinn DelVal, Fargo South High School, Clara Pollack Scholarship; Crystal Deng, West Fargo STEM Center, and Noah Schindbeck, Ben Franklin Middle School, Fargo, Kris Callenbach Knudson Scholarships; Summer Sturlagson, Fargo South High School, Margaret Gollehon Scholarship; Matthew Lorenz, Fargo South High School, Sue Simpson Memorial Scholarship; and Benton Schmidt, home school, Special Music Club Scholarship.

Carissa Johnson, daughter of Wade and Sharon Johnson, Moorhead, has been awarded a $4,000 Donald V. Hawkins Scholarship from the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities.

ELECTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS: The Dacotah Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution has elected the following officers for 2013-2016: Wanda Peterson, regent; Sheila Wichmann, vice regent; Patricia Kratky, chaplain; Pam Solwey, secretary; Courtney Waid-Lindberg, corresponding secretary; Katie Bailey, treasurer; Andrea Rootham, registrar; and Susan Matson-Thorsrud, historian.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. Contact Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.