« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published May 26 2013

Jackrabbits shut out Bison twice to win Summit League title

ROCHESTER, Mich. – No. 1-seeded South Dakota State shut out North Dakota State twice on Sunday to capture the Summit League baseball championship.

Scott Splett and Aaron Machbitz each had an RBI as the Jackrabbits defeated the Bison 2-0 in Game 1 to force a winner-take-all second game.

Tournament MVP Daniel Telford’s two-out RBI double in the first inning of Game 2 was the difference as South Dakota State won 1-0.

NDSU’s Wes Satzinger and Blake Turbak each went 2-for-4 in Game 2.

With the two wins, the Jackrabbit earn an automatic bid to their first NCAA Division I regional tournament.

The Bison finish the season one game below .500 at 26-27 overall.

SDSU 010 000 010–2 8 1

NDSU 000 000 000–0 7 0

Flaa, Anderson (8) and Leach. Emery, Moore (8) and Clary. W–Emery (4-5). L–Flaa (1-1).

SDSU 100 000 000–1 6 0

NDSU 000 000 000–0 7 0

Jaunich, Kingsley (4), Straka (7) and Leach. Kraemer, Bougher (6), Somsen (8) and Clary. W–Kraemer (4-2). L–Jaunich (2-7).

Summit League All-Tournament Team

South Dakota State: Daniel Telford (MVP),

J.D. Moore, Stephen Bougher, Scott Splett,

Kolton Emery

North Dakota State: David Ernst, John Straka, Kyle Kleinendorst, Wes Satzinger

Western Illinois: Aaron Michel, Tanner Glore, Dan Dispensa.

Oakland: Jason Hager, Nolan Jacoby