« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published May 15 2013

Grollman, Manney Scholars of Distinction

MOORHEAD – Moorhead High School seniors Nina Grollman and Devon Manney have been named 2013 Minnesota Scholars of Distinction in Theater Arts by the Minnesota Department of Education.

To become a Scholar of Distinction, students must complete required work in Minnesota’s Academic Standards, demonstrate mastery of complex subject matter and apply their knowledge and skills on challenging projects.

Awards may be earned for leadership, mathematics, science, social studies, technology, engineering, mathematics and theater arts.

Theater arts students had to present a portfolio of their work and a script analysis, be interviewed and perform for a panel of college professors and professionals.

Past Moorhead High students who earned the theater arts honor are Drew Lausch (2012), Trevor Larson (2011) and Sadie Langemo (2007). Andrew Chen was named a Minnesota Scholar of Distinction in Mathematics in 2006.