« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published May 03 2013

Forum garners top North Dakota newspaper awards, ‘Best of the Dakotas’

The Forum took home 94 awards, including 26 first-place honors, at this year’s North Dakota Newspaper Association Better Newspaper Contest.

Special honors and awards including:

• The Forum was named best large daily paper in the inaugural “Best of the Dakotas” category, which judged papers from both North Dakota and South Dakota.

• The Forum won the Sweepstakes award, which recognizes the paper with the most news and advertising awards.

• The Forum won General Excellence, which is based on news coverage, feature stories, news editing, photography and cutlines, headlines, editorial page, advertising, typography and design and the overall product.

• Photographer David Samson won Photo of the Year for his high school track meet high jump photo.

• The Forum won the First Amendment Award, which is given to a paper for its efforts to keep the public informed through the pursuit of open records and open meetings matters.

• The Forum’s Newspaper in Education program and its coordinator, Kerri Kava, tied for NIE Newspaper of the Year.

• The Forum was also named the NorthSCAN Top Seller for daily newspapers.

First-place winners

• Reporting – Mike Nowatzki, “Fargo murder suspect keeps skating by.”

• Reporting Series – Marino Eccher, “Deadly decisions.”

• Feature Reporting – (tie) Tammy Swift, “A ‘Titanic’ life.”

• Feature Reporting Series – Anna Larson, “Overcoming bullying.”

• Government Reporting – Kristen Daum, “Big Oil.”

• Business Reporting - Marino Eccher, “Crowded in the middle.”

• Sports Page/Section – Forum staff.

• Sports Reporting – Jeff Kolpack, “A dream come strue.”

• Sports Reporting Series – Jeff Kolpack, Eric Peterson and Tom Mix, “Road to recovery.”

• Editorial – Jack Zaleski, “Sharper focus on Spirit Lake.”

• Editorial Page – Jack Zaleski.

• Agricultural Coverage – Marino Eccher, “Bumper crop.”

• Front Page Design Excellence – Bill Wambeke.

• Informational Graphics – Bill Wambeke, “Guest Check.”

• Best Website – (tie) Forum staff.

• Overall Design Excellence – Forum staff.

• Sports Photo – David Samson, “High jump.”

• Picture Story – Dave Wallis, “Tommy’s story.”

• Agricultural Photo – Dave Wallis, “Trial and error.”

• Outdoor Recreational Photo – David Samson, “Let’s go fly a kite.”

• Home/Gardening Ad – Jamie Odum, “The Forum: Do you love to dig in the dirt?”

• Agricultural Ad – Paula Pandey Chhetri, “A Helping Hand.”

• Use of Color – Brenda Lawrence, “Give mom the perfect gift.”

• Promotion of the Newspaper – Advertising – Rebekah Ness, “Forum advertising works.”

• Promotion of the Community – Paula Pandey Chhetri, “Big Boys Toys.”

• Signature Page – Paula Pandey Chhetri, “Breast Cancer Awareness.”

Second-place winners

• Reporting Series – Amy Dalrymple, “Housing in the Oil Patch.”

• Government Reporting series – Teri Finneman, “Child care in the Oil Patch.”

• Spot News – Erik Burgess and Dave Roepke, “ND aviation pioneer killed in plane crash.”

• Business Reporting – Ryan Bakken and Marino Eccher, “On anniversary of sugar lockout, workers have little to celebrate.”

• Sports Feature – Jeff Kolpack, “Family and football.”

• Sports Column – Jeff Kolpack, “Showing a softer side.”

• Standing News Fronts – Bill Wambeke, “Autism.”

• Agricultural Coverage – Ryan Bakken and Marino Eccher, “Friendships frayed.”

• Personal Column – Humorous – Matthew Von Pinnon, “Auto-flush tests a dad’s patience.”

• Special Section – Forum staff, “Gold Rush.”

E Section/Feature Fronts Design Excellence – Bill Wambeke, “Wiz Kid comes home.”

• Informational Graphics – Troy Becker, “Where does all that oil go?”

• News Photo – David Samson, “Funeral flyover.”

• Spot News Photo – Dave Wallis, “Heidi Heitkamp and her mom.”

• Feature Photo – Dave Wallis, “Sliding by the light of the Christmas moon.”

• Portrait Photo – David Samson, “Head of the class.”

• Outdoor Recreational Photo – Michael Vosburg, “Park dance.”

• Ad Series – Jamie Odum, “The Great Indoors: For those who don’t wear blaze orange.”

• Use of Color – Rebekah Ness, “5th Anniversary Celebration.”

• Promotion of the Newspaper – Advertising – Sara Slaby, “Want your message on the front page?”

Third-place winners

• Reporting Series – (tie) Anna Larson – “Keeping the faith.”

• Feature Reporting – (tie) Patrick Springer, “From mayor to naysayer.”

• Feature Reporting Series – Dave Olson and J. Shane Mercer, “The final goodbye.”

• Government Reporting series – Ryan Johnson, “Audit: NDSU, UND.”

• Business Reporting – J. Shane Mercer, “Less than professional: how to spot workplace bullying and resolve it.”

• Agricultural Coverage – Wendy Reuer, “Aiding farm families.”

• Personal Column - Humorous – Jack Zaleski, “Chickens: dumb, dirty and mean.”

• Section/Feature Fronts Design Excellence – Mark Merck, “Artistic license.”

• Front Page Design Excellence – Heidi Tetzman Roepke.

• Feature Photo – David Samson, “Dancer.”

• Sports Photo – Michael Vosburg, “Texas two-step.”

• Picture Story – Carrie Snyder, “Women camps.”

• Pictorial Photo – David Samson, “Ice making.”

• Agricultural Photo – David Samson, “Outtakes.”

• Entertainment/Liquor Ad – Jamie Odum, “WDAY AM: Merry Christmas.”

• Vehicle Ad – Mindy Wirtzfeld, “Luther Family Ford: We care about our customers.”

• Agricultural Ad – Adam Zavalney, “When your business is at steak.”

• Promotion of the Community – Sara Slaby, “One Great Weekend.”

• Special Advertising Section – Creative Staff, “Business Profiles.”

• Signature Page – Paula Pandey Chhetri, “Freaky Festivities.”

Honorable mentions

• Feature Reporting Series – Meredith Holt, “Alcoholism series.”

• Government Reporting – Patrick Springer, “Billion dollar question.”

• Spot News – Ryan Johnson and Erik Burgess, “Trio of tragedies.”

• Sports Reporting – Eric Peterson, “Dollars drive change.”

• Sports Column – Eric Peterson, “NCAA’s all-time wins leader a unique legend.”

• Agricultural Coverage – Ryan Johnson, “Orphaned calf.”

• Personal Column – Serious – Ryan Johnson, “Finding happiness after mental illness.”

• Section/Feature Fronts Design Excellence – Hayden Goethe, “Texas two step.”

• Headline – Erin Crommett, “Along came a cider.”

• Spot News Photo – Dave Wallis, “Cat check.”

• Feature Photo – Dave Wallis, “Hot enough for ya?”

• Picture Story – David Samson, “Maplewood State Park.”

• Pictorial Photo – Dave Wallis, “Holy silhouette.”

• Outdoor Recreational Photo – Carrie Snyder, “Olympic competitor.”

• Entertainment/Liquor Ad – Sara Slaby, “Deer Camp: One Great Weekend.”

• Vehicle Ad – Rebekah Ness, “Luther Family Ford: Customers.”

• Outdoors/Sports Ad – Rebekah Ness, “Outlet Recreation: Bargain Hunter Sale.”

• Ad Series – Rebekah Ness and Mindy Wirtzfeld, “Luther Family Ford: Where we care about customers.”

• Use of Color – Brenda Lawrence, “Simplicity Freedom.”

• Special Advertising Section – Creative Staff, “Gold Rush.”

• Signature Page – Paula Pandey Chhetri, “A Pet Place.”