« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published April 29 2013

YWCA honors Women of the Year

FARGO – For 40 years, the YWCA has celebrated special women whose lives, talents and passions shape the community.

On Monday night at the Fargo Holiday Inn, 30 women and businesses were honored at the 40th annual YWCA Women of the Year event.

The evening culminated with the announcement of the award recipients in 11 categories.

The 2013 Women of the Year winners are:

• Jody Hudson, development director at CCRI

• Julie Brunette, executive director of Handi-Wheels Transportation

• Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., a Fargo law office

• Kathy Smith, program services coordinator at the Rape and Abuse Crisis Center

• Nancy H. Murphy, director of Fargo Public Schools’ secondary education, curriculum and professional development

• Lois Ustanko, director of faith community nursing and health ministries at Sanford Health

• Paula Kelly, Ramsey National Bank’s deposit services officer

• Dr. Janine Carson, a physician in Sanford Health’s Breast Services

• Kristina Heggedal, a Fargo South High School student

• Anna Frissell, executive director of the Red River Children’s Advocacy Center

• Dr. Terrie L. Manno, Minnesota State University Moorhead concert pianist, professor of piano and coordinator of Keyboard Studies

Other nominees included:

• Jodi Buresh, assistant general manager of the Red River Valley Fair Association

• Bridget Cullen, executive director of Cullen Children’s Foundation

• Bette Hingst, Paradiso general manager

• Kristi Huber, resource development director at United Way of Cass-Clay

• Kristie Invie, vice president of clinical performance improvement at Sanford Health System

• Marilyn J. Guy, professor of education at Concordia College

• Jenna Johnson, director of Family Wellness

• Anjali Lall, a Davies High School student

• Savannah Lauf, a North Dakota State University student

• Sara Lichtblau, a teacher at Fargo South High School

• Chelsey Matter, senior business network consultant at Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota

• Robin Nelson, executive director of the Boys & Girls Club/Youth Commission

• Maryann Olthoff, Cobber Kids head preschool teacher

• Bobbi Paper Schwantes, injury prevention coordinator at Sanford Children’s

• Dawn R. Latunski, nurse at Sanford Health

• Sherri Schmidt, vice president of the NDSU Alumni Association

• Stacey Tronson, legal program chair at Globe University

• Luella Vitalis, Concordia College Emeritus Faculty

• Joyce Westfall, retired