« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published April 27 2013

Honors and officers (April 27)

Collins, Taves earn AAA management awards

Kim Collins, territory manager for North Dakota and Nebraska, and Robbin Taves, North Dakota field manager, Fargo and Bismarck, have been recognized as two of the top managers in The Auto Club Group, the second largest AAA club in North America.

Collins and Taves each received the President’s Elite Award, the highest level of recognition for managers in the AAA club, which covers 11 states and two U.S. territories. In addition, Taves was recognized as Field Manager of the Year.

Award criteria include meeting or exceeding annual production goals for life, property and casualty insurance, and membership and travel sales.

Area winners announced in landscape contest

Brent Keller, S&S Landscaping, Matt Tollefson, Opp Construction, and Ryan Hoss, Baker Garden and Gift, all of Fargo, were named as top landscape designers in the 2013 North Dakota Nursery and Greenhouse Association Landscape Awards Program which recognizes outstanding work done by landscape professionals throughout the state.

Keller received the top award in the residential frontyard division, Tollefson earned the top award in the residential backyard division and Hoss was the winner in the commercial division.

Kayla Thoennes, S&S Landscaping, received a first-place award in the marketing contest plant materials division for the displays she created at the S&S Landscaping garden center at 2777 S. Fiechtner Drive, Fargo.

Travis Nelson, Opp Construction, and Ryan Aakre, Signature Landscapes, received honorable mentions for their entries. Also receiving awards of merit were Chad Erickson, Oasis Plantscapes, West Fargo, Cody Wilhelm, Dakota Impressions, Bismarck, and Jodi Ziegelman, Accelerated Green Works, West Fargo.

Stende marks 40 years with Warner and Co.

Norma Stende, vice president and key account commercial line account manager for Warner and Co. Insurance, Fargo, is celebrating her 40th anniversary with the agency this month.

She was named vice president of the organization in 2004.

Sonewald named adult volunteer of the year

Krissy Sonewald has been named the adult volunteer of the year by the North Dakota Long Term Care Association.

Other award winners included the Souris Valley Care Center, Velva, N.D., group volunteers of the year, and Theresa Nelson, Luther Memorial Home, Mayville, N.D., young adult volunteer of the year.

Sonewald has been a volunteer at Bethany on University in Fargo for more than 12 years and has logged nearly 18,000 hours of volunteer service.

Two ND firms in running for Freedom Award

The U.S. Department of Energy Western Area Power Administration, Bismarck, and Wanzek Construction, Fargo, have been named semifinalists for the Secretary of Defense Employer Support Freedom Award.

The award is the department’s highest honor for employers who provide extraordinary support to their Guard and Reserve employees.

This year the department received 2,899 nominations for the award. Recipients will be announced in early summer and will be honored in September at an awards ceremony in Washington.

Fargo Jet Center receives FAA awards

The Fargo Jet Center has received the Federal Aviation Administration’s Certificate of Excellence Diamond Award.

Twenty-one technicians at Fargo Jet Center have also earned Aviation Maintenance Technician awards.

RRV Fair elects new board members, officers

The Red River Valley Fair Association, West Fargo, has elected new board members and officers.

Chris Heise, West Fargo, and Staci Lee, Kindred, N.D., were elected to the board of directors.

Those elected to serve three-year terms on the executive committee are: Renee Atkinson, West Fargo; Mary McIntyre, Casselton, N.D.; and Tom Monilaws, Absaraka, N.D. They join current executive committee members Jo Anne Anderson, Bill Hoffmann, Duane Hauck, Susan Hogen, Darnell Lundstrom and Lois Sullivan.

Hogan, Hauck and McIntyre will serve the board as president, vice-president and secretary-treasurer, respectively.

Bremer agency earns President’s Club plaque

Bremer Insurance Agency, Lisbon, N.D., was presented with a 2013 President’s Club plaque from Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance Co.

The plaque recognizes the agency’s achievement, ranking among Grinnell Mutual’s top 50 agencies and 11 farm mutual companies for outstanding production and profitability over a five-year period.

Christianson’s earns best in class award

Christianson’s Business Furniture, Fargo, has earned a best in class dealership award from Haworth Inc.

The award is given to dealerships based on sales, customer satisfaction, operational excellence and enterprise development.

St. Joseph’s center earns excellence status

St. Joseph’s Area Health Services Center for Weight Management and Essentia Health Clinic, Park Rapids, Minn., has earned a Center of Excellence in Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery designation.

The distinction is awarded by the Surgical Review Corp., an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the safety, efficacy and efficiency of bariatric and metabolic surgical care worldwide.

Dr. Daniel Smith and Dr. Robert Wroblewski from St. Joseph’s have earned the SCR Surgeon of Excellence in Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery designation.

ND Soybean Growers re-elects board officers

The North Dakota Soybean Growers Association has re-elected officers to its board of directors.

Those re-elected are: Jason Mewes, Colgate, president; Brent Kohls, Mayville, vice president; Luke Kuster, Grand Forks, secretary; and Harvey Morken, Casselton, treasurer. Edwin Erickson Jr., Milnor, will continue to serve as the American Soybean Association representative.

The following producers were elected to serve on the board of directors: District 1, Craig Olson, Colfax; District 2, Kasey Lien, Milnor; District 3, Ryan Richard, Horace; District 4, Eric Broten, Dazey; District 5, Brent Kohls; District 6, Luke Kuster; District 7, Shane Heck, Cavalier; and District 8, Dennis Renner, Mandan.

Robert Runck Jr., of Casselton, Mewes and Morken were appointed to at-large positions on the board. Jay Gudajtes, Minto, was named the DuPont Young Leader member of the board. Jay Myers, Colfax, was re-appointed the industry representative.

Catalyst earns Platinum Plus designation

Catalyst Medical Center, Fargo, has been awarded the Allergan Platinum Plus designation, which is awarded to the top 3 percent of all participating Allergan accounts nationwide.

Catalyst is the only Platinum Plus account in North Dakota. The center also offers Brilliant Distinctions, Allergan’s loyalty program.

Gaarder named MHIMA distinguished member

The Minnesota Health Information Management Association has named Carolyn Gaarder, Fargo, as its 2013 Distinguished Member.

Gaarder has been an active member of AHIMA since 1971 and a member of MHIMA for many years. She earned a bachelor’s degree from the College of St. Scholastica and a master’s degree from Minnesota State University Moorhead.

She is the health information technology program director at Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Moorhead.

Northern States Supply named member of year

Northern States Supply, Fargo, was named Evergreen Marketing Group Tier 2 Member of the Year for 2012.

Evergreen Marketing is a national affiliation of independent distributors in the construction and industrial products industry that focuses on marketing and training.