« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published April 20 2013

Honors and Officers (April 20, 2013)

Rotary Club honored

as community champion

The Great Plains Food Bank has recognized the Fargo Rotary Club with its Hunger Relief Champion Award for the clubs contributions and commitment to end hunger.

The club helped launch the Cass-Clay BackPack Program in 2010 and has continued to offer financial and other support for the program.

Sanden, Breyer earn AAA awards for sales

Scott Sanden, a AAA sales and service agent, has been recognized as a top agent for membership sales, and Donna Breyer, a AAA senior travel agent, has been recognized as a top agent for leisure travel sales.

Both work in the AAA office in Fargo.

Simonson elected

to VISIONBank board

Kelli Simonson was elected as a new member of the board of directors at VISIONBank, Fargo.

Simonson has nine years of experience in the banking industry. She is originally from Detroit Lakes, Minn., and earned a bachelors degree in finance from Minnesota State University Moorhead.

She started her career with VISIONBank seven years ago as a loan review officer/internal auditor. She was promoted to assistant vice president of operations/compliance and is now the senior vice president of operations and chief financial officer.

Strand earns alumni achievement award

Michael Strand, associate professor and head of the visual arts department at North Dakota State University, has earned an alumni achievement award in art from the University of Nebraska-Lincolns Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts.

The award recognizes alumni, faculty, staff and student achievement. Strand earned a masters degree in fine arts from UNL in 1999.

Kraft earns honor

for life insurance sales

Ken Kraft, Fargo, has earned the Dakotas Life Leader Award from American Family Insurance for outstanding sales of life insurance products offered by American Family Life Insurance Co.

The Dakotas sales award covers North Dakota and South Dakota. Kraft has been an agent with American Family for over 19 years.

ND tourism industry leaders earn awards

The North Dakota Department of Commerce Tourism Division has awarded Governors Travel and Tourism awards to nine leaders in North Dakotas tourism industry. Those honored with awards include:

E Old Red Old Ten Scenic Byway, Tourism Organization of the Year.

E Troy White, Bonanzaville, West Fargo, Travel and Tourism Industry Leader.

E Jayne Rieth, Fargo-Moorhead Convention and Visitors Bureau, Front-Line Employee.

E Pembina State Museum, International Tourism Award.

E Daniel Rodriguez, AALTOS Garden Caf, Canad Inns, Grand Forks, Behind the Scenes Tourism Employee.

E The Red River Zoo, Fargo, Attraction of the Year.

E Big Iron Farm Show, West Fargo, Event of the Year.

E Julie Rygg, Greater Grand Forks Convention and Visitors Bureau, Wade Westin Award for Marketing.

E Medora Pitchfork Fondue and Medora Musical, Best Package.

Connor, Asche qualify for Summit Circle

Shad Connor and Steve Asche, wealth advisers with Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, Fargo, have qualified for the Summit Circle conference.

They have been with Thrivent Financial for more than 33 years of combined experience.