« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published March 30 2013

Honors and Officers (March 30, 2013)

The Spectrum takes top honors in competition

The Spectrum, North Dakota State University’s student newspaper, won first place in the four-year, nonweekly newspaper category at the Associated Collegiate Press’ Best of the Midwest College Newspaper Competition.

The Mirror of Lakeland College, Sheboygan, Wis., took second place, and the Collegian of Jamestown (N.D.) College placed third in the category.

The Spectrum’s editor-in-chief is Linda Vasquez, a senior majoring in journalism and advertising.

Keller receives platinum service recognition

Kim Keller of Park Co. Realtors, Fargo, has achieved the Quality Service Certified Platinum award for the second year in a row.

She earned the award in recognition for earning 100 percent client service satisfaction in 2012 as measured by Leading Research Corp.

Park Rapids, Fosston hospitals earn honors

St. Joseph’s Area Health Service, Park Rapids, Minn., and Essentia Health, Fosston, Minn., have been named in the list of the nation’s Top 100 Critical Access hospitals.

The rankings, made by the National Rural Health Association and iVantage Health Analytics, are based on a judging process of more than 50 criteria among rural hospitals nationwide including patient perspective, affordability, outcomes and efficiency.

Coldwell Banker First Realty earns honors

Coldwell Banker First Realty, Fargo, was named the 2012 Number One Office in North Dakota for Coldwell Banker Commercial.

Ben Saucke, an agent with Coldwell Banker First Realty, was named the top professional in North Dakota and has earned the company’s Bronze Level Circle of Distinction, which is given to top-ranking producers among Coldwell Banker Commercial professionals.

Saucke has been with the firm since 2004 and specializes in investment properties including sales and leasing of industrial, land, multifamily, office and retail.

ND Guard journalists win national awards

North Dakota National Guard journalists received numerous awards in the National Guard Bureau Media Contest, which consists of entries from Army National Guard soldiers and Air National Guard airmen from 54 states and territories.

The winning entries advanced to the Maj. Gen. Keith L. Ware Public Affairs Competition, which judges the best from major U.S. Army commands around the world.

Awards included: Maj. Gen. Keith L. Ware Competition, Personality Feature Article, Sgt. 1st Class Amy Wieser Willson, first place; Sports Article, Wieser Willson, first; Story Series, Wieser Willson, second; and Stringer-Writer, Spc. Michael Hagburg, second.

National Guard Bureau 2012 Media Contest awards, Photojournalism, Senior Master Sgt. David H. Lipp, third; Sports Photograph, Lipp, third; Magazine-Format Publication, North Dakota Guardian, first place with Editor Staff Sgt. Eric Jungels; Outstanding Initiative in New Media, North Dakota National Guard Public Affairs Office, third; Personality Feature, Wieser Willson, first; Sports Article, Wieser Willson, first; Story Series, Wieser Willson, first; Contribution by a Stringer (Writer), Spc. Kristin Berg, first, and Hagburg, third.

FCCU names members to board of directors

At First Community Credit Union’s recent annual meeting in Jamestown, N.D., the board of directors re-elected Dayne Headland and Owen Olson to the board, and Mark Watne was elected as a new member. All will serve three-year terms.

Board member Mary Nelson, who had served on the board of directors since 2004, did not seek re-election.

Two qualify for Million Dollar Round Table

Ryan Botner and Josh Bach, financial professionals with Red River Financial Group, Fargo, have qualified for the Million Dollar Round Table.

Botner is a four-time qualifier for MDRT. He previously qualified in 2009, 2010 and 2011. Bach also qualified for MDRT in 2010 and 2011.

Minnkota Windows earns OSHA honors

Minnkota Windows, Fargo, has qualified for certification by the Occupational Health and Safety Administration’s Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program.

Minnkota is one of 22 company groups in North Dakota to earn the honor.

SHARP recognizes companies for passing a comprehensive OSHA consultation visit, correcting all identified hazards and demonstrating that effective safety and health programs are in place.

Jewelry artist places

in juried art exhibit

Jewelry artist and metalsmith Tamra S. Kriedeman, Enderlin, N.D., took second place with her metalwork bracelet “Shardana” in the international juried art exhibit at the River Walk Artists Gallery, East Grand Forks, Minn.

The bracelet is a mix of brass, copper and sterling silver and is a tribute to some of the ancient techniques used by the Shardana people of the Mediterranean region to create armor.

Kriedeman has been designing and creating jewelry since 2004 using modern and traditional metalsmithing techniques.

Prudential agents named to Leading Edge

Prudential Premier Real Estate agents Susie Nickell, Rod Richter, Mark and DeAnne Mason and Sabrina Anderson, Fargo, have been named to the Leading Edge for 2012 by Prudential Real Estate.

The award recognizes residential sales professionals who exemplified outstanding performance in closed residential gross commission income, commercial GCI or specified closed residential units for the year.

March of Dimes names 2012 volunteer of year

Gary Anderson, Fergus Falls, Minn., has been named the March of Dimes North Dakota Volunteer of the Year for 2012.

Anderson has more than eight years of experience with the March of Dimes as a volunteer and fundraiser. He began his volunteer work after the loss of his granddaughter, Kaitlyn, who was born prematurely.

Since then he has sponsored an annual fundraiser in Fergus Falls to raise awareness of the March of Dimes in memory of his granddaughter and in that time he has raised over $33,500.

MPS recognized

for electric reliability

Moorhead Public Service is one of 184 of the nation’s more than 2,000 public power utilities to earn Reliable Public Power Provider recognition from the American Public Power Association.

The RP3 designation recognizes public power utilities that provide consumers with the highest degree of reliable and safe electric service, workforce development and system improvement.

Park Co. Realtors earns Cartus Five Star Award

Park Co. Realtors, Fargo, has earned the Cartus Five Star Award, which recognizes brokers who have met or exceeded individual objectives for outgoing broker-to-broker referral closings during the calendar year.

Rejuv awarded platinum designation by Allergan

Rejuv Skin and Laser Clinic, Fargo, has been awarded a platinum designation by Allergan, the maker of Botox, Juvederm and Latisse. Platinum status is awarded to the top 6 percent of Botox and Juvederm providers nationwide.

Rejuv is the only platinum level Botox/Juvederm provider in the Fargo area and one of only two clinics in North Dakota to earn the designation.

Francis earns awards

at photo competition

Dan Francis of Dan Francis Photography, Fargo, was awarded Top Portrait for his photograph “The Contender” at the North Dakota, South Dakota and Minnesota regional photography competition.

He also received a national Kodak Gallery Award and a People’s Choice award for his photo “Lost in Translation.” He was also named the 2013 Professional Photographers of North Dakota Photographer of the Year.

Thrivent reps honored for sales and service

Al Fabricius, Paul Holtan, Larry Borlaug and Hannah Sorensen, financial associates with Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, Fargo, have qualified for the Sierra-level conference by providing financial guidance and solutions to members of the organization in 2012.

Out of nearly 2,300 Thrivent Financial representatives nationwide, only 700 individuals qualified for this honor.