« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published March 21 2013

UND's Knight, Kristo named Hobey Baker Award finalists

ST. PAUL – North Dakota senior forwards Corban Knight and Danny Kristo are among 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award as college hockey’s best player.

Two St. Lawrence players – junior forward Greg Carey and senior forward Kyle Flanagan – also are finalists.

The finalists were announced Thursday. They were selected by voting from all 59 Division I head coaches and by fans online.

Other finalists are Niagara junior goalie Carsen Chubak, Miami (Ohio) sophomore forward Austin Czarnik, Boston College sophomore forward Johnny Gaudreau, Quinnipiac senior goalie Eric Hartzell, St. Cloud State senior forward Drew LeBlanc and Nebraska-Omaha junior forward Ryan Walters.

The three finalists will be announced April 3. The winner will be announced April 12 during the NCAA Frozen Four.

Lawmaker seeks to preserve rivalry

MINNEAPOLIS – A Minnesota lawmaker wants to make sure the Minnesota-North Dakota men’s college hockey rivalry continues after the two teams leave the Western Collegiate Hockey Association.

Rep. Ryan Winkler, D-Golden Valley, introduced a bill Thursday that would pay the University of Minnesota $800,000 any year the school plays North Dakota at least once. It wouldn’t matter which team wins.

Winkler said his bill is “a little bit in jest” and that it won’t become law.