« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published March 19 2013

U of M Siehl Prize winners announced

ST. PAUL – An expert in wheat diseases, a food company executive and a pair of entrepreneurs have won the University of Minnesota’s Siehl Prize in Agriculture.

This year’s recipients include:

• University researcher Yue Jin, a leader in work aimed at stopping the spread of rust in wheat and barley, a significant threat to the world’s food supply.

• Philip Minerich, vice president of research and development at Hormel Foods, where he has led innovations in packaging, food technology and food safety.

• Ted Huisinga and Ray Norling, who built Willmar Poultry Co. into a multi-faceted firm with a dozen affiliated companies, all related to the turkey industry.

The prize is awarded annually by the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences. It was created by a gift from New Ulm-area businessman Eldon Siehl.