« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Angie Wieck, Published March 17 2013

Namedroppers (March 17, 2013)

MSUM NEWS: The following area students have been awarded academic scholarships from Minnesota State University Moorhead: Danielle Corcoran, child of Dean and Bev Corcoran, West Fargo, $4,000 University Scholarship; Makayla Swenson, child of David and Lori Swenson, Fargo, $5,000 Achievement Scholarship; and Erica Clark, child of Michael and Michelle Clark, Dilworth, $5,000 Achievement Scholarship.

NDSCS NEWS: Four North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, students recently qualified to attend the Collegiate DECA International Career Development Conference in Anaheim, Calif., by placing high at the North Dakota Career Development Conference in Fargo. Students, hometowns, rank and events were as follows:

Morgan Peterson, Oakes, N.D., professional sales, first; hotel lodging management, first; marketing management, third.

Stan Lein, Breckenridge, Minn., travel and tourism marketing, first; human resource management, first.

Mitch Ronan, Breckenridge, sales manager meeting, first; professional sales, third.

Jessica Woehl, Jamestown, N.D., travel and tourism marketing, fifth.

MAKING THE GRADE: The following area students were named to the honors list at the University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point: Bryce Dutton, Detroit Lakes, Minn.; Adeleine Gregor, Abbey Immer, Catherine Smith, Fargo; Joseph Pettit, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Curtis Krump, Hankinson, N.D.; Jordan Krsnak, Nicholas Wheeler, Moorhead; and Alyssa Berube, Pelican Rapids, Minn.

Devon Cavic of Horace, N.D., and Chalsey Falk and Dylan Boucher of Moorhead were awarded chancellor’s awards at the University of Wisconsin – Stout for achieving a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

The following Fargo students were named to the fall semester dean’s list at the College of St. Benedict, St. Joseph, Minn.: Katherine Brown, Symphony Grant-Moser, Christine Hanish, Molly Jackson and Kirsten Lundberg.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Bethel University, St. Paul: Jaclyn Arness, Emily Bond, Emily Lindvig, Kyle Ulstad, Fargo, and Callie Roseland, Moorhead.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Northwestern College, St. Paul: Danielle Militzer, Joshua Militzer, Moorhead; Anthony Potts, Amanda Robson, Fargo; and Megan Zillmer, Ulen, Minn.

Matthew Hajostek, Moorhead, was named to the dean’s list at St. John’s University, Collegeville, Minn.

Gustav Hamilton, Fargo, was named to the dean’s list at the University of Montana, Missoula.

RECENT GRADS: The following students have graduated from Northwestern College, St. Paul: Lisa Cregan, Park Rapids, Minn.; Shane Hollenbeck, Elizabeth Schock, Moorhead; and Carissa Hendrickson, Fargo.

Aaron Heysse, Fargo, graduated from Southern Methodist University, Dallas, with a master of interactive technology in digital game development.


Western State Bank has awarded Sarah Schaeffer of West Fargo, and Brandon Bohmert of Fargo $250 savings scholarships as part of its scholastic recognition program, Western Pays for As. Students in grades 6 – 12 are encouraged to bring in their report cards to Western State Bank each quarter. In return for As, students are given a packet of coupons or gift certificates from area businesses. The bank also awards two $250 scholarships each semester for those in grades 9 – 12 who brought in their report cards. Students receive an entry for each A they earn.

Kate Clausen, Moorhead, has been awarded the second annual Vera May Barnes Zubrzycki Scholarship from Dominican University’s Graduate School of Library and Information Science in River Forest, Ill. The scholarship is intended to support a library school student specializing in service to children, with emphasis on incorporating multiculturalism, particularly the Polish-American experience, into the practice of librarianship.

AND THE WINNER IS: Gurtaran Johal, a seventh-grade student at Cheney Middle School’s STEM Center in West Fargo, was the winner of the school’s Geographic Bee and will now compete at the state competition April 5 in Bismarck.

4-H NEWS: The following 4-H members were winners in the Cass County 4-H Communication Arts & Expo Contest recently held at Horace (N.D.) Elementary:


Preteen Division

E Interpretive reading/humorous: Anna Stoppleworth, Horace; Astrid Axtman, Fargo; Jack Stoppleworth, Horace; and Katelyn Galde, Horace.

E Interpretive reading/serious: Nidhi Mahale, Fargo, and Nishita Gaba, Fargo.

E Prepared Speech: Jacob Schulz, Fargo, and Nidhi Mahale, Fargo.

E Commercials/team: Jack Stoppleworth and Anna Stoppleworth, Horace; and Nathaniel Walden, Argusville, N.D., and Violet Tegtmeier, Grandin.

E Commercials/individual: Emily Zurn, Fargo, and Astrid Axtman, Fargo.

E Broadcast/team: Preeti Chemiti and Pooja Chemiti, Fargo.

E Short takes: Katelyn Galde, Horace.

E Demonstration/individual: Astrid Axtman, Fargo; Brianna Mohs, Horace; Joslin Forness, West Fargo; Katelyn Galde, Horace; Emily Zurn, Fargo; Leah Jost, Fargo.

E Demonstration/team: Gracie Erickstad and Morgan Haugen, Horace.

E Illustrated talk/individual: Jonathan Schulz, Fargo, and Astrid Axtman, Fargo.

E Presentation software: Nishita Gaba, Fargo.

Teen Division

E Interpretive reading/humorous: Megan Badinger, Fargo; and Rachel Danielson, Fargo.

Interpretive reading/serious: Rachel Danielson.

Dramatic presentation/team/team: Kaleen Krueger, Casselton, and Mikayla Cramer, Amenia.

Commercials/team: Megan Badinger and Emily Erickson, Fargo.

Broadcast/team: Megan Badinger and Emily Erickson, Fargo.

Prepared speech: Arianna Alvarez, Kindred.

Short takes: Mikayla Dodge, Davenport.

Illustrated talk/individual: Rachel Danielson, Fargo.


Preteen Division: Gracie Erickstad, Horace; Jack Stoppleworth, Horace; and Anna Stoppleworth, Horace.

Teen Division: Kaleen Krueger, Casselton; Mikayla Cramer, Amenia; and Luke Grant, Fargo.

AND THE WINNER IS: The North Dakota Federation of Music has announced winner of the 2013 Junior Composer Contest. Winners and their hometowns and music teachers are as follows:

E Class I: Olivia Gunderson, Detroit Lakes, Minn., Sharon Wesbrook, first; Grace Gunderson, Detroit Lakes, Sharon Wesbrook, second; Ashley Berger, Grand Forks, N.D., Gloria Bethke, third; and Abby Larson, Detroit Lakes, Sharon Wesbrook, fourth.

E Class II: Anna Cihak, Detroit Lakes, Sharon Wesbrook, first; Allison Knutson, Minot, N.D., Karen Borud, second; Alex Berger, Grand Forks, Gloria Bethke, third; and Ella Zhang, Grand Forks, Gloria Bethke, fourth.

E Class III: Holly and Heidi Camp, East Grand Forks, Minn., Sheila Nelson, first; and Jared Hollingworth, Gloria Bethke, Grand Forks, second.

First and second place winners will now compete in the North Central Regional Contest.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. Contact Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.