« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published March 09 2013

St. Thomas claims Minnesota Class 1A boys hockey title

ST. PAUL – Three was the magic number Saturday afternoon for St. Thomas Academy.

Tommy Novak scored a power-play goal with 6.1 seconds left in the third period and St. Thomas Academy scored the final three goals to win its third straight Class 1A boys hockey championship by beating Hermantown 5-4. It was the third straight year the Cadets beat the Hawks in the final.

Novak, a sophomore on a team with 13 seniors, led the Cadets with 28 goals this season.

“If he keeps working as hard as he does, he can do anything,” said teammate Matt Perry, who had a hat trick.

The Cadets (27-2-2), who will be moving up to Class 2A next season, have won five of the past eight Class 1A crowns, but maybe none as controversial.

Novak took a pass from Wyatt Schmidt near the right wall and cut to the top of the slot. His slapshot beat Adam Smith high on the glove side.

Hermantown players and coaches were irate with the officials leading up to the winning goal. Coach Bruce Plante walked across the ice after the final horn while removing his hat to voice his displeasure with one official.

“It wasn’t a discussion. It was a comment or two or five,” he said.

Scott Wasbotten was whistled for holding with 1:57 to play after dragging down a Cadet in the St. Thomas Academy zone. Then, moments before the game-winning goal, Plante thought a penalty should have been called on Alex Johnson, whom Plante said had a Hermantown player in a headlock as the Hawk went for the puck.

“I didn’t think we should have had a penalty on the one we got, and then you got the same play at the other end and we didn’t get the call,” Plante said, choosing his words carefully.

St. Thomas co-coach Greg Vannelli said he didn’t see the play that brought about the power play.

Class 2A championship

Edina 4, Hill-Murray 2

ST. PAUL – Cullen Munson had two goals, Willie Benjamin stopped 25 shots and Edina beat Hill-Murray 4-2 Saturday night to win the Class 2A state boys hockey championship.

Dylan Malmquist and Anthony Walsh also scored for the third-seeded Hornets (25-6-0). Parker Reno and Bo Brauer each had two assists in helping Edina earn its eighth title in school history.

Josh French scored twice for the top-seeded Pioneers (27-3-1), who lost in the title game for the second straight season. Zach LaValle had two assists.

Munson scored his first goal on a rebound late in the first period. His other came early in the second and gave the Hornets a 3-1 lead.

Walsh and French exchanged goals late in the second.

Hill-Murray goaltender John Dugas made 18 saves.

Moorhead 5, Eastview 2

MINNEAPOLIS – Moorhead scored the first four goals of the game en route to a 5-2 victory against Eastview in the Class 2A consolation championship Saturday at Mariucci Arena.

Jacob Dittmer and Peter MacFarlane combined to stop 29 of 31 shots for the Spuds (16-12-2).

Thomas Carey had a goal and two assists for Moorhead. Tony Uglem, Jacob Odegard, Will Borgen and Grant Weiss also added a goal apiece.

FIRST PERIOD: 1, M, Carey 6:33 (sh). 2, M, T. Uglem (Carey) 8:39. 3, M, Odegard (Masseth, O’Connor) 11:40.

SECOND PERIOD: 4, M, Borgen (Mehnert, Carey) 3:31.

THIRD PERIOD: 5, E, McGlocklin (Erickson, McNamara) :27 (pp). 6, M, Weiss (Mehnert, Borgen) 3:05 (pp). 7, E, McNamara (Abbott) 13:56 (sh).

SAVES: M, Dittmer 9-8-x–17, McFarlane x-x-12–12. E, Driscoll 16-6-x–22, Montgomery x-5-6–11.