« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published March 02 2013

NDSU’s Innovation Week winners named

FARGO – North Dakota State University and the NDSU Research and Technology Park recently announced winners of Innovation Challenge ’13.

Erin Nyren-Erickson took top honors for a test for contaminants in heparin, a blood-thinning drug that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration requires screened. She won the $5,000 Tangible Innovations Track and the $5,000 Best in Show prize.

Team Improving Osteointegration won the $5,000 Innovations Track for their method of determining the ideal pore size for growing cells that will allow a novel dental implant to integrate into a patient’s jaw bone. Team members are Emily Steil, Shelby Schields, Sarah Lindblom and Hannah Green.

Team Corn Oncologists won the $5,000 Corn-Based Innovations track for a project on corn resistant starch nanoparticles as encapsulation material for colon cancer drug delivery. The encapsulation material has the potential to deliver anti-cancer drugs directly to the colon while minimizing the side effects of chemotherapy. Team members are Dusan Petrovic, Nilushni Sivapragasam, Darshika Amarakoon and Su Hyeon Hwang.

Team Midwest Best won the $1,000 People’s Choice Award for their software program that uses cameras to record video to help determine fault when car accidents occur. Team members are Bryce Heustis, Drew Spooner and Anna Haugen.