« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published February 22 2013

Fargo-Moorhead CVB hosts awards event

FARGO – The Fargo-Moorhead Convention and Visitors Bureau recently hosted its annual awards and appreciation luncheon at the Fargo Air Museum.

Five area individuals and groups were honored for their contributions to tourism promotion, development and hospitality.

Individual award winners:

• The Community Service Award was presented to Dave Dougherty, president of the National High School Athletic Coaches Association, for his help in bringing the 2012 NHSACA National Convention to Fargo-Moorhead.

• The Countrypolitan Award was given to the Downtown Community Partnership. The DCP was honored for sponsoring events such as the Street Fair, Cruisin’ Broadway, Streets Alive and Corks & Canvas, and for facilitating major initiatives such as the Renaissance Zone, Broadway Streetscape Improvement Project, railway quiet zone and the Downtown Business Improvement District.

• The Heartland Pride, which honors individuals or organizations for efforts to bring a major convention, conference, meeting or special event to the area, was awarded to the Christian Congregation of Jehovah’s Witness. The event was held in Bismarck until 2012, when organizers signed a five-year contract with Fargo-Moorhead. The convention will bring 5,000 attendees to the area and have an estimated economic impact of more than $2 million.

• The Always Warm Award was presented to Cole Carley, former president and CEO of the CVB. Carley retired in June after 22 years with the bureau. Among his many contributions, Carley co-founded the North Dakota Tourism Alliance Partnership, Upper Midwest CVB Conference and the Metropolitan Area Tournament Commission.

• The Sports Minded Award was presented to Mark Knutson. Knutson and his staff have organized the Fargo Marathon since its beginning as a half-marathon with 300 runners in 2002. The event has grown into multiple events with more than 20,000 participants.