« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum News Service, Published February 09 2013

West Fargo captures East Region tournament with highest point total ever

GRAND FORKS – West Fargo is getting used to wrestling with high expectations.

“We’re expected to win,” Packers wrestler Trevor Kringlie said. “I think that pushes us. It makes you work harder. I think we have higher expectations for ourselves.”

The Packers didn’t lose a dual this season and were never beaten by a North Dakota opponent in a tournament. They lived up to expectations Saturday, winning the East Region tournament with a record-setting performance.

West Fargo took the team title with 302.5 points, the highest total ever in the tournament. The Packers far outdistanced the field, with Fargo Davies finishing second with 189.5 and Grand Forks Red River third with 187.

Packers coach Kayle Dangerud agreed that his own team’s expectations are high.

“We want to be No. 1,” Dangerud said. “We don’t want to be considered underdogs. I’d rather be a favorite. That means if we take care of things we can control, then we will have success.

“The focus is for each kids to take care of himself. Then the team takes care of itself.”

The Packers dominated.

West Fargo had six individual champions in Jordan Shearer (126 pounds), Kringlie (132), Weston Dobler (145), Shelby Schulz (160), East Region senior athlete of the year Preston Lehmann (182) and Zach Eider (220).

Four other Packers placed second. Six others had top-four finishes. Seventeen qualified for the state tournament, which begins Thursday in Fargo.

“We were favored in five of the weights we won,” Dangerud said. “All our top seeds won.

“We try to make pressure a non-issue. I think it should give us confidence that we’re expected to do well.”

Shearer, Kringlie and Lehmann were repeat winners in the regional. Other repeat winners were Fargo North’s Tom Walton (120 pounds), Fargo Davies’ Cole Mehring (138 pounds) and Grand Forks Red River’s Bryan Bjerk (285 pounds).

Other individual winners were Fargo South’s Mario Bell (106), Grand Forks Central’s Bryce Fish (152), Valley City’s Zach Doty (170) and Red River’s Rodell Johnson (113) and Jared Bertsch (195).

The top eight placers in each weight class advance to state.

Keenan Spiess of Fargo Davies was named region coach of the year.

Team scores: West Fargo 302.5, Fargo Davies 189.5, GF Red River 187, Fargo North 141, Wahpeton 139, Valley City 136, GF Central 123, Fargo South 102, Devils Lake 62

Individual results

106: First, Bell, FS, over Berry, FS, 1:54. Third, Cronin, WF, over Franek, WF, 6-1. Fifth, Lenoue, Wahp, over Morris, FD, forfeit. Seventh, McGough, VC, over Larimer, RR, 15-0

113: First, Johnson, RR, over Cronin, WF, 13-7. Third, Keener, GFC, over Hanson, GFC, injury default. Fifth, Skaare, FD, over Estenson, DL, 6-2. Seventh, Dahlstrom, RR, over Erlandson, VC, 11-1

120: First, Walton, FN, over Rodriquez, WF, 12-3. Third, Good, DL, over Ashline, VC, 4:51. Fifth, Berg, Wahp, over Young, GFC, 3:44. Seventh, Nemer, FD, over Khaman, FS, 3:55

126: First, Shearer, WF, over Murphy, RR, 12-2. Third, Burnside, FD, over Meyer, Wahp, forfeit. Fifth, Moses, FN, over Kikopa, FS, 1:52. Seventh, Lamberson, GFC, over Richter, RR, 5-0

132: First, Kringlie, WF, over Bell, FS, 3-1. Third, Shearer, WF, over Miller, VC, 8-0. Fifth, Thiel, Wahp, over Christen, RR, forfeit. Seventh, Coronato, FN, over Finch, FD, 9-4

138 : First, Mehring, FD, over Kragnes, WF, 3-1. Third, Berntson, FN, over Litzinger, GFC, 3:37. Fifth, Larimer, RR, over Rhode, FS, 8-4. Seventh, Komrosky, VC, over Stein, DL, 12-8

145: First, Dobler, WF, over Meyer, Wahp, 3-2. Third, Undem, VC, over Hanevold, RR, 18-3. Fifth, Brandon, GFC, over Siaway, FS, 10-6. Seventh, Wagemann, FN, over Moe, FD, 4:37

152: First, Fish, GFC, over Shepherd, WF, 3-2. Third, Kragnes, WF, over Goulet, RR, 1:10. Fifth, Isakson, FD, over Deitemeyer, FS, 2:36. Seventh, Bjugstad, Wahp, over Carroll, VC, 7-3

160: First, Schulz, WF, over Alexander, FD, 5-3. Third, McNary, Wahp, over Worral, FN, 6-5. Fifth, Oen, GFC, over Trenne, RR, 9-0. Seventh, Bjornson, VC, over Moor, DL, 0:56

170: First, Doty, VC, over Crissler, FD, 3:58. Third, Kuznia, WF, over Goodman, FN, 2-1. Fifth, Edwardson, Wahp, over Sondreal, RR, 13-1. Seventh, Rohrich, FD, over Brekhus, FS, 14-6

182: First, Lehmann, WF, over Mairs, FD, 0:28. Third, Terrill, GFC, over Magnuson, VC, 5-3. Fifth, Rook, FN, over Aamold, FN, forfeit. Seventh, McCall, Wahp, over Glimsdahl, GFC, 4:32

195: First, Bertsch, RR, over Nielson, FS, 3:41. Third, Kjera, FD, over Mugavero, WF, 8-5. Fifth, McAllister, DL, over Martin, FD, forfeit. Seventh, Lindgren, VC, over Escobar, GFC, 5-2

220: First, Eider, WF, over Hanson, FN, 5-4. Third, Deike, Wahp, over Oster, RR, 2:57. Fifth, Kjera, FD, over Bjornson, VC, 1:08. Seventh, Scott, DL, over Krile, FS, 2:48

285: First, Bjerk, RR, over Swensen, FD, 9-1. Third, Matejcek, DL, over Horner, VC, 3:57. Fifth, Ringdahl, Wahp, over Berg, FN, 5-1. Seventh, Metz, WF, over Spah, GFC, 8-2.

Senior athlete of the year: Preston Lehmann, West Fargo

Coach of the year: Keenan Spiess, Davies