« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published February 09 2013

Honors and Officers (February 09, 2013)

Foundation elects four new board members

The Fargo-Moorhead Area Foundation has elected Laine Brantner, Joel Jorgenson, Morrie Lanning and Matthew Mohr to its board of directors.

Brantner is executive vice president for partner and financial services at Evolution1. He has 15 years of experience in financial institution, retirement, health care and consumer-driven health care industry executive leadership. Brantner has a bachelors degree in business administration from the University of Iowa and a masters degree in business administration from Baylor University,

Jorgenson is chief executive officer and a founder of Packet Digital. He was a faculty member in North Dakota State Universitys electrical and computer engineering department and also worked at Rockwell Collins, Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He has engineering degrees from NDSU, the University of Iowa and Iowa State University.

Lanning recently retired from the Minnesota House of Representatives, where he served Moorhead and northern Clay County for the past 10 years. He was vice president for student affairs and dean of students at Concordia College, served six years as a member of the Moorhead City Council and was mayor of Moorhead for 22 years. Lanning has bachelors degrees in history, political science and psychology from Concordia College and a masters degree in guidance and counseling from NDSU.

Mohr is president and chairman of the board of Dacotah Paper Co., and chairman of Valley Lights. He has served on the boards of the MeritCare Foundation and Fargo Public Schools Development Foundation and as president of the NDSU Commons Club. Mohr has a bachelors degree in economics and business from NDSU, a masters degree from the Krannert Graduate School of Management, Purdue University, and has authored and published multiple articles on entrepreneurship, economics, personal growth and motivation.

NDSCS students win building competition

A team of five students from the North Dakota State College of Science in Wahpeton took first place in the Residential Construction Management Competition hosted by the National Association of Home Builders.

Team members were Bailey Tennant, Glendive, Mont., Lakshantha Ruwanpathirana and Brady Snell, Fargo; Alex Palmer, Glendive, Mont.; and Tanner Johnson, Dickinson, N.D. Shannon Mehrer, associate professor of building construction technology, was the teams adviser.

The students completed a management project/proposal and submitted it to a group of construction company executives for judging. The competition gives students the opportunity to demonstrate their problem-solving skills by preparing a solution through documents, which includes the development of working drawings, a labor and materials estimate and a construction schedule.

Carlsrud honored for 25 years of postal service

Bruce Carlsrud has been honored by the U.S. Postal Service with a 25-year service award.

Carlsrud began his postal career at the Fargo processing and distribution center and in 1989 transferred to the Moorhead Post Office.

He works as a city letter carrier on a south Moorhead route.

FirstLink names new officers, board members

FirstLink has elected officers and board members for 2013.

Those elected are: Lisa Bortnem-Wiser, chairwoman; Jerry Skjonsby, internal vice chairman; Darrell Vasvick, external vice chairman; and Tatum Lindbo, governance vice chairman.

Board members are: Judie Lee, Kristina Hansen, Terry Lindemoen, Mitch Burris, Jocelyn Lura, Shannon Monroe, Marit Haman, Mike Gast, Julie Klawiter, Jessica Shawn and Meghan Finch.

Commercial Realtors group elects officers

The Dakota District Chapter of Certified Commercial Investment Members has elected new officers.

Those elected are: Kelly Parrett, Lexstar Real Estate Services, president; Matt Durbin, Konrad Olson Commercial Realtors, vice president; and Brent Kuehne, Goldmark Schlossman Commercial Real Estate Services, secretary/treasurer.

West Fargo Soccer club elects board members

The West Fargo Soccer Club has elected two new board members and re-elected six members for 2013.

Those newly-elected are: JJ Svenby and Dean Sather, at-large members.

Members re-elected are: Dave Fenelon, president; Craig Johnson, president-elect; Kim Hurley, past president; Mark Hanson, treasurer; Chris Pederson, treasurer-elect; and Tina Lemi, at-large member.

Starion adds seven to management group

Starion Financial has expanded its management committee by adding seven members.

New committee members are: Ryan McKay, compliance and risk manager vice president; Brandon Hoffman, mortgage banking manager; Kevin Valleroy, information technology manager; Suzanne Knapp, deposit operations manager; Stephanie Honeyman, senior vice president of retail banking; Ronelle Mehlhoff, vice president training manager; and Dan Staller, Fargo market president.