« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published January 12 2013

Vikings' Peterson, Walsh garner All-Pro honors

NEW YORK – It’s unanimous, on both sides of the ball.

Vikings 2,000-yard man Adrian Peterson and Texans pass-swatting end J.J. Watt were unanimous choices for The Associated Press All-Pro team announced Saturday.

Peterson, who came within 9 yards of breaking Eric Dickerson’s single-season rushing record, and Watt, who led the NFL with 20½ sacks, were selected by all 50 members of a nationwide panel of media members who cover the league.

Peterson is a three-time All-Pro, while Watt represents lots of new blood. He’s among 17 players making their All-Pro debuts.

“Obviously it’s a huge honor, especially for being such a young guy,” said Watt, a second-year pro. “It’s crazy to even think about. It’s very humbling and very motivating. It makes me want to do it again and again.”

One rookie, Minnesota kicker Blair Walsh, was chosen.

Peyton Manning made his sixth team, the previous five while quarterbacking Indianapolis. He led Denver to the AFC’s best record, 13-3.

Also chosen for the sixth time was Atlanta tight end Tony Gonzalez, who this season moved into second place on the career receptions list. San Francisco linebacker Patrick Willis made it for the fifth time in his six pro seasons.

The 49ers had the most All-Pros, six: Willis, fellow LBs NaVorro Bowman and Aldon Smith, guard Mike Iupati, safety Dashon Goldson and punter Andy Lee.

“As an organization, we take great pride in the success and recognition of our players,” said 49ers general manager Trent Baalke, who is a former athletic director at Fargo Shanley High School. “This type of acknowledgement only comes from hard work and a team-first mentality, which all six of these men exhibit on a daily basis. They play the game the way it was meant to be played, and are very deserving of this honor.”



Quarterback: Peyton Manning, Denver.

Running Backs: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle.

Fullback: Vonta Leach, Baltimore.

Tight End: Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta.

Wide Receivers: Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Brandon Marshall, Chicago.

Tackles: Duane Brown, Houston; Ryan Clady, Denver.

Guards: Mike Iupati, San Francisco; Jahri Evans, New Orleans.

Center: Max Unger, Seattle.

Placekicker: Blair Walsh, Minnesota.

Kick Returner: Jacoby Jones, Baltimore.


Ends: J.J. Watt, Houston; Cameron Wake, Miami.

Tackles: Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Vince Wilfork, New England.

Outside Linebackers: Von Miller, Denver; Aldon Smith, San Francisco.

Inside Linebacker: Patrick Willis, San Francisco; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco.

Cornerbacks: Richard Sherman, Seattle; Charles Tillman, Chicago.

Safeties: Earl Thomas, Seattle Dashon Goldson, San Francisco.

Punter: Andy Lee, San Francisco.



Quarterback: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay.

Running Backs: Alfred Morris Washington; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City.

Fullback: Jerome Felton, Minnesota.

Tight End: Jason Witten, Dallas.

Wide Receivers: A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Andre Johnson, Houston.

Tackles: Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Joe Staley, San Francisco.

Guards: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Logan Mankins, New England.

Center: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.

Placekicker: Phil Dawson, Cleveland.

Kick Returner: David Wilson, New York Giants.


Ends: Justin Smith, San Francisco; Julius Peppers, Chicago.

Tackles: Justin Smith, San Francisco; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit; Haloti Ngata, Baltimore.

Outside Linebackers: Chad Greenway, Minnesota; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco; Clay Matthews, Green Bay; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.

Inside Linebackers: Daryl Washington, Arizona; London Fletcher, Washington.

Cornerbacks: Champ Bailey, Denver; Tim Jennings, Chicago.

Safeties: Eric Weddle, San Diego Jairus Byrd, Buffalo.

Punter: Thomas Morstead, New Orleans.