« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published January 05 2013

Fargo-area debaters pick up awards at tourney

FARGO – Maybe it was the home-field advantage.

Shanley High School’s debate team picked up top honors Saturday during the 19th annual “PMJ” debate tournament, a tourney hosted by Shanley that featured competition from 12 other schools from North Dakota and South Dakota.

Shanley racked up the tourney high of 76 team points, followed by Brookings, S.D., with 50 points, Milbank, S.D., with 48 points and Aberdeen, S.D., Central with 42 points.

Shanley team member Chase Johnson took second place in the Division I Lincoln Douglas Debate and was named to the all-tournament Lincoln Douglas team that also includes Anjali Lall (Davies), Nathaniel Steinlicht (Milbank) and David Evers (Wahpeton, N.D.). Lall was a quarterfinalist in the debate.

Two more Shanley debaters, Tom Startz and Sebastian Startz, were semifinalists in the Division I Public Forum Debate and were named to the All-Tournament Public Forum Team that also includes Michael Buchanan (Aberdeen) and Jack Seitz (Aberdeen).

Other Fargo-area individual winners for the Lincoln Douglas Debate included Division I semifinalists Adel Said (West Fargo) and Catherine Cho (Davies); Hannah Ohm (Shanley) received second place in Division II and Patrick Donnegan (Shanley) was a semifinalist; and Matthew Thibert (Shanley) took first place in Division III, followed by second place finisher Gabe Thomas (Shanley) and quarterfinalist Keshava Katti (North High).

Additional Fargo-area winners for the Public Forum Debate were: Hannah Keogh and Eliana Goehring (Shanley), first place in Division II; Division II quarterfinalists Matt Bohn and Connor Hennen (West Fargo) and Emily Hartwig and Tanner Goldade (West Fargo); Division III semifinalists Sofia Flores and Isaac Spanjer (North High) and M.J. Lepine and Austin Weigel (Shanley); and Division III quarterfinalists Paula Kosienski and Pranisha Pantha (South High).