« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published January 03 2013

Cramer, Heitkamp to be sworn in today

BISMARCK, N.D. — North Dakota Rep.-elect Kevin Cramer and Sen.-elect Heidi Heitkamp are being sworn in Thursday in the nation's capital.

North Dakota's newest congressman is the state's only member of the U.S. House. The Republican Cramer defeated Democrat Pam Gulleson in November in his third campaign for a House seat. Cramer lost twice to Democrat Earl Pomeroy in the 1990s.

Heitkamp is being sworn in on the Senate side. The Democrat defeated Republican Rick Berg in a tight, closely watched race last fall.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.