« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published December 22 2012

Honors and Officers (December 22, 2012)

ND water user groups honor Mark Bittner

Mark Bittner, director of engineering for the city of Fargo, has received the North Dakota Water Wheel award from the North Dakota Water Users Association and the North Dakota Water Resource Districts Association.

The award recognizes Bittners leadership and perseverance in motivating development of the states water resources.

Bittner has worked for the city of Fargo since 1975 and has led many flood fights throughout his career. He has also been instrumental in determining permanent solutions to the areas most affected by flooding.

Builders group honors Moldenhauer, Kurtyka

Chad Moldenhauer, owner of K&L Homes, Bismarck, was named State Builder of the Year, and LeRoy Kurtyka, a manager at Northern Plumbing Supply, Grand Forks, was named State Associate of the Year by the North Dakota Association of Builders.

The awards are based on member spirit, civic activity, business accomplishments and activities within the local, state and national associations.

NDSU ag, Extension faculty earn honors

Several North Dakota State University agriculture and Extension faculty members have earned awards. Of the 47 people nominated this year for the awards program, those honored and their awards are:

- Tom DeSutter, assistant professor, School of Natural Resource Sciences (Soil Science), Larson/Yaggie Excellence in Research.

- Anna Grazul-Bilska, professor, Department of Animal Sciences, Eugene R. Dahl Excellence in Research.

- Siew Lim, assistant professor, Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics, Earl and Dorothy Foster Excellence in Teaching.

- Janice Haggart, instructor, Department of Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences, H. Roald and Janet Lund Excellence in Teaching.

- Rachel Richman, senior lecturer, Department of Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences, William J. and Angelyn A. Austin Excellence in Advising.

- Reid Redden, Extension sheep specialist and assistant professor, Department of Animal Sciences, Myron and Muriel Johnsrud Excellence in Extension/Outreach.

- Brad Brummond, Extension agent, Walsh County, AGSCO Excellence in Extension.

- Kirk Anderson, research specialist, School of Natural Resource Sciences (Entomology), Charles and Linda Moses staff award.

- Sandy Erickson, administrative assistant, Department of Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences, Donald and Jo Anderson staff award.

- Nels Olson, research technician, Hettinger, Rick and Jody Burgum staff award.

Soybean group names Gauslow vice chairman

Scott Gauslow, Colfax, N.D., was elected vice chairman of the Soy Transportation Coalition, which is comprised of 11 state soybean boards, the American Soybean Association and the United Soybean Board.

The coalition positions the soybean industry to benefit from a transportation system that delivers cost-effective, reliable and competitive service.

Gauslow grows soybeans and corn on his farm and has been an STC board member since its inception in 2007. He is also vice chairman of the North Dakota Soybean Council.

IT service group names 2013 board members

The Information Technology Service Management Forum USA has elected board members for 2013. The board plans and produces four events each year in the Fargo-Moorhead area regarding information technology service management.

Those elected are: Heidi Guggenberger, StrataCom, president; Jen Orth, Noridian, president-elect; Todd Jacobson, Noridian, membership; Jessica Candy, Microsoft, finance; and Troy Smith, Border States.

Members at large are: Audra Kutz, Advance Market Place; Dale Dingmann, Loren Klimek and Heidi Domier, Border States; Justin Stansbury, CorpTech; and Mike Hughes, Core Link Solutions.

Lakes Country Service Cooperative elects 3

The Lakes Country Service Cooperative has elected three members to four-year terms on its board of directors.

Those elected are: Carol Juul, Evansville School Board; William Tomhave, Moorhead School Board; and Tarma Carlson, Fergus Falls School Board.

Marc Hasbargen, Breckenridge School Board, was appointed to fill a one-year position vacancy.

Pearson to serve on supplier diversity board

Kaleigh Pearson, supply chair services quality assurance, sustainability and supplier diversity coordinator at Border States Electric, Fargo, has been invited to serve on the Midwest Minority Supplier Development Council certification committee.

Pearson has a bachelors degree in environmental analysis and policy and a masters degree in energy and environmental analysis from Boston University. She earned a juris doctor degree from the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, and is a licensed attorney in Minnesota.

Northwestern Mutual earns recognitions

Northwestern Mutual Financial Network has been named a Best Company to Sell For by Selling Power magazine and a Glassdoor.com Best Place to Work in 2013.

This is the 10th consecutive year the company received the accolade from Selling Power and was ranked first in their industry and 17th overall among service companies.

The company ranked 41st overall in Glassdoors top 50 best places to work and also received the Employees Choice award.

Chairman and chief executive officer John Schlifske was ranked as the most popular insurance company CEO in the U.S. and received a 96 percent approval rating.

Ulteig earns award for overlay project

Ulteig, Fargo, has been awarded a 2012 American Concrete Pavement Association gold award in the groups annual Excellence in Concrete Pavement Awards Program.

Ulteig provided preliminary and design engineering for the reconstruction, rehabilitation and maintenance of North Dakota Highway 200 near Hillsboro, N.D.

Ulteig worked with Dakota Underground and the North Dakota Department of Transportation to complete the $5 million project.

Tharaldson Hospitality receives Marriott award

Tharaldson Hospitality Management has received the Partnership Circle Award from Marriott International.

The award is the highest honor Marriott presents to its franchise partners for hospitality excellence.

Gary Tharaldson is founder of Tharaldson Hospitality Management and Aimee Fyke is the companys chief operating officer.

The company manages 18 Tharaldson-owned Marriott hotel properties across the United States.

Kennedy recognized for 25 years of service

Robert Kennedy, Moorhead, has been recognized for 25 years of service with the National Association of Independent Fee Appraisers.

Kennedy has been inducted into the associations Quarter Century Club, which recognizes his accomplishments and dedication to the appraisal profession.

Maring attorneys named to Super Lawyers list

Four attorneys with Maring Williams Law Office, with offices in Fargo, Bismarck and Detroit Lakes, Minn., have been named to the Great Plains Super Lawyers list as top attorneys in North Dakota for 2012 in the area of plaintiffs personal injury.

The attorneys are: David S. Maring, Michael J. Williams, Daniel J. Dunn and Duane A. Lillehaug.