« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published December 16 2012

North Dakota to cast official presidential vote Monday

BISMARCK — The presidential election has long been declared, but a historic tradition remains: casting the official electoral college ballots.

North Dakota Lt. Gov. Drew Wrigley will preside over a meeting of the state's presidential electors as they cast their official votes for the nation's president and vice president at 1 p.m. Monday. The group will gather in the Governor's Conference Room of the state Capitol in Bismarck.

North Dakota's electors are Layton Freborg of Underwood, Mary Lee of Bismarck, and David Nething of Jamestown.

North Dakota voters elected Republican Mitt Romney, but President Barack Obama won the national race handily by the electoral college tally, with 332 electoral votes to Romney's 206.