« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published December 08 2012

Honors and Officers (December 08, 2012)

Area banker receives national FFA honor

Dennis Walsh, Harvey, N.D., chief credit officer of First International Bank and Trust, was named an honorary American farmer at the national FFA convention Oct. 25 in Indianapolis.

Walsh has been active in FFA for many years as a student member in high school, a state officer and as a member of the North Dakota FFA Foundation board for six years.

Rostock wins Carnegie achievement award

Sheri Rostock, Lisbon, N.D., won the highest award for achievement for her participation in a Dale Car-negie course she recently completed in Jamestown and Valley City, N.D.

The recipient for the award is voted on by class members upon completion of the course series.

Rostock is a senior insurance specialist with AgCountry-FCS in Lisbon.

U.S. Bank names Star of Excellence honorees

U.S. Bank has named Deidra Dick and Kylie Mitchell as the winners of its Star of Excellence award in the southeast North Dakota market.

The award is presented to personal bankers and universal bankers based on sales performance.

Dick is a personal banker at the branch in north Fargo, and Mitchell is a universal banker at the branch in southwest Fargo.

NDSU Extension agents, staff earn awards

Several North Dakota State University Extension Service agents and staff have been honored by the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents.

Each year, the association recognizes members for their 4-H and Extension work with awards for outstanding accomplishments in achievement, leadership, service and communication.

Those earning awards included:

- Samantha Roth, an agent for Stark and Billings counties, and Carrie Knutson, a Grand Forks County agent, Achievement in Service Award.

- Beth Roth, Grant County, and Sue Isbell, Sioux County, Distinguished Service Award.

- Peggy Anderson, an agent for Burke and Divide counties, Meritorious Service Award.

- Samantha Roth, Jane Heth, an administrative assistant for Stark and Billings counties, and John Grindahl, a graphic designer in NDSUs Agriculture Communication Department, North Central Regional Exhibit Team Award.

RRV Fair earns eight awards at convention

The Red River Valley Fair Association, West Fargo, received eight awards at the John Deere Agricultural Award of Excellence ceremony during the recent annual International Association of Fairs and Expositions convention in Las Vegas. The awards were:

- First place: Special Ag Education Event, for the Agassiz Seed-sponsored outdoor garden and Overall Program for Commercial Agriculture Vendors for the Big Iron Farm Show.

- Second place: Overall Program of Agriculture Competitors and Overall Ag Program, for Non-Agricultural Fairgoers for the Cass County Farm Bureaus ag education center.

- Third place: Special of Specific Event, for Ag Exhibitors for the Scheels sponsored exhibitor picnic, Non-Fair Ag Event for the living ag classroom, Program to Correct an Issue for the newly purchased sheep stalls and Printed Materials for the agriculture posters to promote livestock.

Burgum appointed to Preventice board

Preventice Inc. has appointed Doug Burgum to its board of directors. Burgum is co-founder and chairman of Arthur Ventures, a Fargo-based venture capital group that focuses on early-stage software companies with a concentration on health care.

Arthur Ventures was an early investor in Preventice, a developer of mobile health solutions and remote monitoring systems. The company is based in Minneapolis with offices in Rochester, Minn., and Fargo.

Edward Jones ranked No. 1 in national survey

The financial services firm Edward Jones was ranked No. 1 in REP magazines annual survey of the nations six largest financial services firms.

The magazine randomly selects financial advisers nationwide and asks them to rank their firms in various categories.

Some of Edward Jones highest scores were 9.7 for ethics, 9.3 for clarity of client account statements, 9.5 for client access to online account information and 9.7 for the high quality of the firms branch office administrators.

Meyer named chairman of ND implement group

David Meyer, West Fargo, chairman and chief executive officer of Titan Machinery, has been elected chairman of the North Dakota Implement Dealers Association. He has been a member of the NDIDA board of directors since 1993 and served as chairman in 2001.

Titan Machinery represents CaseIH Agriculture, Case Construction, New Holland Agriculture, New Holland Construction and other manufacturers in the United States and Europe.

Meyer is a graduate of the University of Minnesota. In 1975, he was employed by Case Co. From 1976 to 1980, he was a partner in a Case and New Holland dealership in Lisbon, N.D., and Wahpeton, N.D. He cofounded the current Titan Machinery company in 1980.

Wheat Growers named ARA retailer of year

The Agricultural Retailers Association has honored Wheat Growers as retailer of the year.

The award is sponsored by Monsanto, ARA and AgProfessional magazine.

Wheat Growers is a grain and agronomy cooperative with more than 600 employees working at 37 locations in South Dakota and North Dakota providing service to more than 5,400 member-owners in a 50-county area.

Dale Locken is the chief executive officer of Wheat Growers.

Froemke participating in 35 Under 35 program

Bobbiann Froemke, senior client director at Sundog, Fargo, has been selected to participate in the 2013 United Way 35 Under 35 Womens Leadership Program, an annual program to mobilize the caring power of women, energize and inspire women to make a difference and to deepen leadership opportunities in the Cass-Clay community.

She will join 34 other women for the annual program beginning in January. Participants meet monthly and discuss a variety of topics that influence young leaders.

Froemke graduated from North Dakota State University with a degree in mass communication. She has been with Sundog for over 10 years.