« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Dave Campbell / Associated Press, Published November 27 2012

Osseo's Tusler is Minnesota Player of the Year, while Perham's Hein makes all-state first team

MINNEAPOLIS – Osseo’s season was over, in defeat to eventual state champion Eden Prairie, and Bridgeport Tusler’s exceptional high school football career was finished.

His first thought was not to cry.

“Don’t show it. Be strong,” Tusler recalled.

So the do-it-all Orioles star stood up in the end zone, fighting back the sadness of finality, and told his returning teammates to remember the bad feeling and use it as motivation for further advancement in the playoffs next season. For all of Tusler’s contributions to Osseo’s team, maturity and leadership were as important as the rushing, blocking, receiving, covering, tackling and returning.

Tusler was named the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year on Tuesday.

“He was kind of an equal to me,” coach Derrin Lamker said. “I’d go up to Bridge, ‘Hey, what play do you want here?’ He’s on the field all the time. I trusted him,” Lamker said. “He’s just a lot of fun. Just a great person.”

Joining Tusler on the all-state first team is Perham quarterback Jordan Hein.

Hein led the Yellowjackets to the Minnesota Class 3A state semifinals, where they were eliminated by Blue Earth Area.

Hein scored 24 touchdowns for Perham, which tied a school record.


Bridgeport Tusler, RB, Osseo



QB – Jordan Hein, sr, Perham

RB – Bridgeport Tusler, sr, Osseo

RB – James Onwualu, sr, Cretin-Derham Hall

RB – Jake Disterhaupt, sr, Moose Lake/Willow River

WR – Jake Weineke, sr, Maple Grove

WR – Marley Allison, sr, Edina

TE – Noah Scarver, sr, Minneapolis Washburn

OL – Chad Fahning, sr, De La Salle

OL – Chandler Wright, sr, Wayzata

OL – Zach Ziemer, sr, Lakeville North

OL – Michael Warren, sr, Providence Academy

OL – Dan Sargeant, sr, Chisago Lakes


DL – Deon Dorvil, sr, Edina

DL – Shaun Schindler, sr, Hutchinson

DL – Andrew Stelter, jr, Owatonna

DL – Joe Schiller, sr, Totino-Grace

LB – Alex Wood, sr, Lakeville North

LB – Chris Wipson, sr, Wayzata

LB – Jack Cottrell, sr, Eden Prairie

LB – Mitch Johnson, sr, Lakeville North

DB – Danny McManus, sr, St. Thomas Academy

DB – Charlie Miller, sr, Totino-Grace

DB – Tycel Page, sr, St. Paul Highland Park

DB – Oscar Opara, sr, De La Salle


Kicker/Punter – Wyatt Schmidt, sr, St. Thomas Academy

Returner/All-Purpose – Nate Ricci, sr, Stillwater



QB – J.T. DenHartog, sr, Hopkins

RB – Chase Morlock, sr, Moorhead

RB – Eji Ejiya, jr, Spring Lake Park

RB – Josh Lanners, sr, Pierz

WR – Evan Guffey, sr, Nicollet

WR – Michael Thomas, sr, Blooming Prairie

TE – Bryce Benson, sr, Grand Meadow

OL – Austin Noble, jr, Cannon Falls

OL – Nate Lassonde, sr, St. Croix Lutheran

OL – Sam Stoll, jr, Kasson-Mantorville

OL – Matt Leidner, sr, Lakeville South

OL – John Bednarczyk, sr, Totino-Grace


DL – Mike Beckmann, sr, Faribault Bethlehem Academy

DL – Birk Olson, sr, Monticello

DL – Ryan Winter, sr, Woodbury

DL – Daulton Olinger, sr, Spring Lake Park

LB – Kurt Mattox, sr, Totino-Grace

LB – Jack Pietruszewski, sr, South St. Paul

LB – Carter Hanson, sr, Blue Earth

LB – Tyler Jakes, sr, Mankato West

DB – Tim Angell, sr, Faribault Bethlehem Academy

DB – Alex Varney, sr, Caledonia

DB – Joey Dreier, sr, New London-Spicer

DB – Ethan Maass, sr, Glencoe-Silver Lake


Kicker/Punter – Bill Leitch, sr, Mankato West

Returner/All-Purpose – Jeff Borchardt, sr, Wayzata

HONORABLE MENTION (area players)


Jacob Pavek, sr, Mahnomen

Running backs

Logan Nordly, sr, Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley

Josh Edlund, sr, Crookston

Defensive linemen

Jacob Hedstrom, sr, Mahnomen


Brady Schmidt, sr, Bemidji


Michael Strand, jr, Barnesville