« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published November 13 2012

Al Carlson tapped again by ND GOP as House majority leader

BISMARCK — Fargo Rep. Al Carlson and Dickinson Sen. Rich Wardner have been re-elected as the North Dakota Legislature's Republican majority leaders.

Republican members of the House and Senate on Monday picked their leaders for the 2013 session. Democrats will be electing their leaders next month.

Carlson and Wardner were re-elected without opposition. In the House, Finley Rep. Bill Devlin was elected as the new House speaker. Devlin defeated Minot Rep. Larry Bellew and Bismarck Rep. Mark Dosch for the job.

Cooperstown Rep. Don Vigesaa (VIG’-uh-sah) was re-elected as the House Republican assistant majority leader.

In the Senate, Fessenden Sen. Jerry Klein was chosen as the new Republican assistant majority leader.

Klein will replace Hazen Sen. Randy Christmann. Christmann was elected to the state Public Service Commission, and he's leaving the Senate.