« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published November 10 2012

Minnesota legislators and how their districts voted on gay marriage amendment

ST. PAUL – If the newly Democratic-led Legislature takes up measures to expand gay rights in 2013, it will put a particular spotlight on lawmakers from districts where votes on a constitutional gay-marriage ban didn’t line up with the prevailing view of their own party. Here’s a look at the electoral mismatches:

Republicans from districts where a majority opposed amendment to ban gay marriage:

Sen. Roger Chamberlain of Lino Lakes

Sen. Dan Hall of Burnsville

Sen. David Hann of Eden Prairie

Sen.-elect Karin Housley of St. Marys Point

Sen. Warren Limmer of Maple Grove

Sen.-elect David Osmek of Mound

Sen. John Pederson of St. Cloud

Sen.-elect Eric Pratt of Prior Lake

Rep. Sarah Anderson of Plymouth

Rep. Mike Beard of Shakopee

Rep. Matt Dean of Dellwood

Rep. Bob Dettmer of Forest Lake

Rep. Steve Gottwalt of St. Cloud

Rep.-elect Jerry Hertaus of Greenfield

Rep. Mary Liz Holberg of Lakeville

Rep. Joe Hoppe of Chaska

Rep. Kathy Lohmer of Lake Elmo

Rep. Jenifer Loon of Eden Prairie

Rep. Andrea Kieffer of Woodbury

Rep. Tara Mack of Apple Valley

Rep. Denny McNamara of Hastings

Rep. Pam Myhra of Burnsville

Rep. Joyce Peppin of Rogers

Rep.-elect Cindy Pugh of Chanhassen

Rep. Linda Runbeck of Circle Pines

Rep. Tim Sanders of Blaine

Rep.-elect Mark Uglem of Champlin

Rep.-elect Anna Wills of Apple Valley

Rep. Kurt Zellers of Maple Grove

Democrats from districts where a majority supported amendment to ban gay marriage:

Sen.-elect Kent Eken of Twin Valley

Sen.-elect Vicki Jensen of Owatonna

Sen. Tony Lourey of Kerrick

Sen. Lyle Koenen of Clara City

Sen. Tom Saxhaug of Grand Rapids

Sen.-elect Matt Schmit of Red Wing

Sen. Rod Skoe of Clearbrook

Sen. Dan Sparks of Austin

Sen. LeRoy Stumpf of Plummer

Sen. David Tomassoni of Chisholm

Rep. Tom Anzelc of Balsam Township

Rep. David Dill of Crane Lake

Rep.-elect Roger Erickson of Baudette

Rep.-elect Tim Faust of Hinkley

Rep. Andrew Falk of Murdock

Rep. Patti Fritz of Faribault

Rep. Paul Marquart of Dilworth

Rep.-elect Jay McNamar of Elbow Lake

Rep. Carly Melin of Hibbing

Rep.-elect Jason Metsa of Virginia

Rep. John Persell of Bemidji

Rep. Jeanne Poppe of Austin

Rep.-elect Joe Radinovich of Crosby

Rep.-elect Mary Sawatzky of Willmar

Rep.-elect Shannon Savick of Wells

Rep.-elect Mike Sundin of Esko

Rep. John Ward of Brainerd

Lawmakers from evenly split districts decided by ballots left blank on amendment question:

Sen. Tom Bakk of Cook, Democrat

Sen. David Senjem of Rochester, Republican

Sen. Carla Nelson of Rochester, Republican

Rep.-elect Tony Albright of Prior Lake, Republican

Rep. Mike Nelson of Brooklyn Park, Democrat

Source: Minnesota Secretary of State election data