« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Angie Wieck, Published November 06 2012

Clay County election roundup

MOORHEAD – Voters in rural Clay County took to the polls to decide a number of city and county races Tuesday.

Seeking to fill two seats on the Hawley City Council were incumbents Stacy Riedberger and C.J. Holl and challenger Benjamin Gunkelman.

With complete but unofficial numbers:

Gunkelman led with 35 percent, followed by Riedberger with 32.2 percent and Holl with 31.7 percent. The candidates had garnered 534, 491, 483 votes respectively.

Riedberger, 54, is a dairy frozen manager for Sunmart Foods in Fargo; Holl, 53, is a business owner; and Gunkelman, 32, is a high school science teacher.

In the race for Glyndon City Council, incumbent Chris Jensen ran against challengers Kimberly S. Savageau and Joe Olson to fill two positions.

As of press time, Jensen led with 37 percent (304 votes) followed by Olson with 34 percent (274 votes) and Savageau with 28 percent (232 votes).

Jensen, 31, is the vice president of Nardini Fire Equipment in Fargo; Savageau, 32, is the deputy recorder for Clay County; and Olson, 31, is a building maintenance worker for Clay County.

In Ulen, running for mayor were newcomers Nicholas Theis and Randy Zimmerman.

As of press time, Zimmerman was ahead with 73 percent of the vote, with 191 votes. Theis was at 27 percent with 69 votes.

Running for the office of District 5 Soil and Water Supervisor were Jerry Janssen, 52, of Barnesville, and Joel Hildebrandt, 51, of Hawley.

Hildebrandt led with 59 percent with 12,316 votes to Janssen’s 40 percent with 8,299 votes.

District 5 covers Hawley, Eglon, Skree, Parke, Humboldt and Tamsem townships.


Hawley City Council:

Gunkelman: 35%; 534 votes

Riedberger – 32.2%; 491 votes

Holl – 31.7%; 483 votes

Glyndon City Council:

Jensen – 37%; 304 votes

Olson – 34%; 274 votes

Savageau – 28%; 232 votes

Ulen mayor:

Zimmerman – 73%; 191 votes

Theis – 27%; 69 votes

District 5 Soil and Water Supervisor:

Hildebrandt – 59%; 12,316 votes

Janssen – 40%; 8,299 votes

Complete but unofficial numbers