« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published November 03 2012

Honors and Officers (November 03, 2012)

Six Vogel attorneys named Super Lawyers

Vogel Law Firm attorneys have been named to the 2012 Great Plains Super Lawyers list as top attorneys in North Dakota.

The attorneys are H. Patrick Weir Jr., personal injury plaintiff: general; Brenda Blazer, personal injury defense: medical; Joel Gilbertson, government relations; John C. Kapsner, business/corporate; Leslie Bakken Oliver, employment and labor; and Monte Rogneby, appellate.

Two from Fargo elected to state CPA board

The North Dakota Society of Certified Public Accountants has elected Len Splicahl as president, and Patrick Kautzman has been named president-elect of the board.

Splicahl is the director of finance at Holy Spirit Catholic Church, and Kautzman is a tax partner for Eide Bailly, both in Fargo.

Lake Agassiz Kiwanis elects new officers

The Lake Agassiz Kiwanis Club has elected new officers for 2013.

Officers elected are Ann Ham, president, Ryan McCamy, president-elect; Norma Swanson, secretary/treasurer; and Dick Brudvik, past president.

New board members are Robert Grosz, Sarah Gasevic, Jeff Hovdenes, Merril Knodle and Derek Runck.

The club meets at noon on Mondays at the Howard Johnson Motel, Fargo. The club is a co-sponsor of the annual boat and sportsmans show at the Fargodome.

NAHB council elects Johnson to board

Bryce Johnson, executive officer of the Home Builders Association of Fargo-Moorhead, was elected to a two-year term for the 2013 Executive Officers Councils board of directors.

The council is the educational and professional organization for the executive officers who manage the state and local associations that comprise the National Association of Home Builders.

The election was held in conjunction with the Association Leadership Institute in August in New Orleans.

Berg elected president of Minn. resort group

Dan Berg, owner of Lakecrest Resort, Detroit Lakes, Minn., has been elected president of the Minnesota Resort and Campground Association.

Berg purchased the resort and a dock sales business in 1998. The resort features 17 cabins on 16 acres of land on the north end of Long Lake. He joined the associations board in 2000.

Others elected are Bryan Harris, Eagle Nest Lodge, Deer River, president-elect; Jim DeRose, Riverside Resort, Richmond, vice president; Beth Schupp, Fair Hills Resort, Detroit Lakes, treasurer; and Tom Kavanaugh, Kavanaughs Sylvan Lake Resort, East Gull Lake, immediate past president.

Other board members elected for terms in 2013 are: Chris Ruttger, Ruttgers Bay Lake Lodge, Deerwood; David Langhoff, Shady Rest Resort and Campground, Villard; Paul Bugbee, Bug-Bee Hive Resort, Paynesville; Jerry Cheney, Apperts Foodservice, St. Cloud; Eric Hanson, Pehrson Lodge Resort, Cook; Paul Nelson, Vagabond Village Campground, Park Rapids;

Paul Ludlow, Ludlows Island Resort, Cook; Jim Benson, Grand View Lodge, Nisswa; Ron Rykken, Timber Bay Lodge and Houseboats, Babbitt; Shorty Spohn, Twin Rivers Campground, Royalton; Debra Theisen, Pine Park Resort, Park Rapids; Kevin Ward, El Rancho Manana Campground and Stable, Richmond; Steve Dragt, Lakeshore RV Park, Ortonville; Wally Heise. South Isle Family Campground, Isle; Jeff Kitterman, Minnesota National Agency, Long Prairie; and Christine Olschlager, Canary Beach Resort, Villard.

Zerr Berg earns award for Gooseberry shelter

Zerr Berg Architects, Fargo, received the Honor Award at the recent North Dakota American Institute of Architects Convention in Bismarck for its design of the Gooseberry Park Picnic Shelter in Moorhead.

Principals at Zerr Berg Architects are Tim Zerr, Brian Berg and Steve Gehrtz.

NDSCS honors worker efforts with awards

Faculty and staff in the Allied Dental Education Department at the North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, have earned annual LIFE awards for developing and implementing an action plan to meet the colleges strategic planning and/or academic quality improvement project goals.

Award recipients are Rhonda Edwardson, Videll Ahrens, Jean Freden, Lucinda Johnson, Stacy Owens, Judy Peterson, Kathy Bodensteiner, Bob Gette, Rod Casad, Sue Swanson, Dave Meyer, Jodi Ost, Brad Barth and Barb Uhlich.

Jim Johnson, an enrollment services specialist with NDSCS, earned the Steeple award for using new and innovative methods to accomplish his role on campus.